Sign in to follow this  
hakatours

Content does not dictate height of Main Content Area

hakatours

Hi all Just onto my second PP site... What do I need to do to get the page(s) to automatically grow as the content does? When I provide content for my pages and posts, the text continues over the morefoot and footer areas. At the moment I have had to use the following:

#dynamic-content {height:840px;}

Because my sidebars are going into my morefoot area (they overlap it). But this leaves an ugly gap on my main content areas that aren't as full. Any suggestions? I cannot find anything in my current CSS that is making it do this. Thanks!

Kate

Hi Ellen, Are you using other custom CSS? Because, "out of the box", it shouldn't do this. Have you tried using a

clear:both

on the footer?

hakatours

Not that I'm aware of... but I am new to this! I tried

#footer {clear:both;}

but nothing. If anyone wants to take a look and see if they can tell what's going wrong: www.ellenpickett.com It's barely started tho! Cheers

timlinson

the absolute positioning from this rule in your custom code is causing it: ` #sidebar1 { background-color: #297093; color: white; position: absolute; top: 250px; ` `}` delete the position rule and use something like top margin instead to line it up: `margin-top: 74px;`

hakatours

Awesome, did not realise absolute positioning did that! Thanks Tim!!

timlinson

No problem.. that's a pretty cool twist on the layout.

hakatours

Hi Tim - thanks, the same thing happening with my actual page canvas, can u suggest CSS that will stop it whilst ensuring my text stays within the section? If I delete

position: absolute;
and replace it with
margin-top

I then find the text is not the same width as it's background. Thanks!

catrina

To clarify: do you want the text column (where your main content area is) to fit the width of the yellow-ish background? Just want to make sure I provide the right fix...