Sign in to follow this  
pbakker22

Nav menu font color/hover color?

pbakker22

Hi, Love PagelinesPro so far, especially as I'm a newbie at CSS coding. However, I'm having trouble customizing the main Nav Menu, which I'm using as a drop-down menu. I have a white page, and have set the hover color to white using Design Control, so that the hover block becomes invisible. Anyway, what I want to do is: -have the inactive menus font a shade of gray (say #DDDDDD) -have the active menu font in black -have the hover font color change to black when I move the mouse cursor over a menu item I searched the Forum, and found the following custom CCS code: ` #primary-nav li.page_item a {font-size: 11px;} .main-nav li.current-page-ancestor a, .main-nav li.current_page_item a, .main-nav li.current-page-ancestor ul a, .main-nav li.current_page_item ul a { color:#000000; background:none repeat scroll 0 0 #FFFFFF; } ` The above does show the active menu item in black color font. However, it does not change a gray font to black when I hover on it. It also doesn't change a main menu heading to a black color font after I've clicked on a sub-heading (so the sub-heading turns to black while the main heading stays grays; weird huh?). Anyway, I'd really appreciate any help, or pointers as to where I should be looking in Firebug..!

timlinson
The above does show the active menu item in black color font. However, it does not change a gray font to black when I hover on it.
Try adding this hover rule: `#primary-nav li.page_item a:hover {color:black;}`
It also doesn't change a main menu heading to a black color font after I've clicked on a sub-heading (so the sub-heading turns to black while the main heading stays grays; weird huh?).
One problem is that the ancestor selector needs underscores instead of hyphens: `current-page-ancestor` => `current_page_ancestor`

pbakker22