Sign in to follow this  
cmhjon

iBlogPro Font

cmhjon

As I am new to WordPress (and have only a basic understanding of how websites work), I have a question about the font used by iBlogPro. As I understand it, for a font to display correctly on a website, a computer viewing the website must have said font installed locally, right? If so, how is it that the font used by iBlogPro can display correctly on my Mac although the font (to my knowledge) is not installed on it?

timlinson

Hey Jon, it's able to do this via cufon. Websites aren't fully dependent on the end user computer when they use font replacements like cufon, google font api, etc.

cmhjon

Hi Tim, Are there any limitation to this? I ask because a PC elsewhere in the office isn't displaying the font correctly. We tried IE8 and Google Chrome. Thanks, Jon

Kate

Hi Jon, Modern browsers shouldn't have an issue with font replacement. But, you can read about the individual solution's limitations on its own site. Hope that helps.

cmhjon

Hi Kate, I have tried several PC's in the building which have IE8 installed (and a couple of them also have Google Chrome). The fonts are not displaying correctly. They do display ok on the various Mac's that I have here in the office. What do I do to get them to display correctly on my PCs? Thanks, Jon

catrina

I'm not sure how they're displaying. Is it possible for you take a screen shot on the PC and post it here?

Please read the docs before posting. Please do not private message me unless I ask you to.

Designer | Catrina Dulay

Founder | Catrina and Mouse

timlinson

Check if you're on iblog 4.2.6.. there was a patch last week to fix cufon in IE.

cmhjon

I have 4.2.5. I have downloaded 4.2.6 but have not updated an existing theme before. Is it as simple as just reinstalling the updated theme? Is there a documented procedure for updating an existing theme? Will I lose my settings/graphics and all my work thus far?

kastelic