princealbert 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2011 Hi, First I would like to thanks the development team for this amazing new 1.3.1 release. I face a request to have two menus on sidebar with text in between so I use the feature of CUSTOM SECTIONS. Here the code I use, to place in the sections folder of the Platformbase child theme : Sidebar Bottom Navigation <?php /* Section: Sidebar Bottom Navigation Author: Camille based on Adam Munns code Description: Creates site navigation. Version: 1.0.0 */ class SideBarNavBottom extends PageLinesSection { function __construct( $registered_settings = array() ) { $name = __('Sidebar Bottom Navigation', 'pagelines'); $id = 'sidebarnavbottom'; $default_settings = array( 'workswith' => array('sidebar1', 'sidebar2', 'sidebar3', 'main'), 'description' => 'Sidebar Site Navigation.', 'icon' => CORE_IMAGES . '/admin/map.png' ); $settings = wp_parse_args( $registered_settings, $default_settings ); parent:GDN__construct($name, $id, $settings); } // PHP that always loads no matter if section is added or not -- e.g. creates menus, locations, admin stuff... function section_persistent(){ register_nav_menus( array( 'sidebarbottom' => __( 'Sidebar Bottom Navigation', 'pagelines' ) ) ); } function section_template() {?> <div id="secondary-nav"> <?php if(function_exists('wp_nav_menu')): wp_nav_menu( array('menu_class' => 'main-nav sf-menu', 'container' => null, 'container_class' => '', 'depth' => 3, 'theme_location'=>'sidebarbottom', 'fallback_cb'=>'nav_fallback') ); endif;?> </div> <?php } } /* End of section class */ Sidebar Top Navigation <?php /* Section: Sidebar top Navigation Author: Camille based on Adam Munns code Description: Creates site navigation. Version: 1.0.0 */ class SideBarNavTop extends PageLinesSection { function __construct( $registered_settings = array() ) { $name = __('Sidebar Top Navigation', 'pagelines'); $id = 'sidebarnavtop'; $default_settings = array( 'workswith' => array('sidebar1', 'sidebar2', 'sidebar3', 'main'), 'description' => 'sidebar Site Navigation.', 'icon' => CORE_IMAGES . '/admin/map.png' ); $settings = wp_parse_args( $registered_settings, $default_settings ); parent:GDN__construct($name, $id, $settings); } // PHP that always loads no matter if section is added or not -- e.g. creates menus, locations, admin stuff... function section_persistent(){ register_nav_menus( array( 'sidebartop' => __( 'Sidebar Top Navigation', 'pagelines' ) ) ); } function section_template() {?> <div id="primary-nav"> <?php if(function_exists('wp_nav_menu')): wp_nav_menu( array('menu_class' => 'main-nav sf-menu', 'container' => null, 'container_class' => '', 'depth' => 3, 'theme_location'=>'sidebartop', 'fallback_cb'=>'nav_fallback') ); endif;?> </div> <?php } } /* End of section class */ Registered our custom sections in function.php .... function base_sections(){ /* Your custom sections get registered in here... PageLines Register Section Arguments: 1. Section Class Name, 2. Directory name (or filename if in root of 'sections' folder), 3. Init Filename (if different from directory name), 4. Section setup and variable array */ pagelines_register_section('BasePullQuote', 'pullquote', null, array('child' => true) ); pagelines_register_section('BaseSidebar','sb_base', null, array('child' => true) ); pagelines_register_section('SideBarNavTop', 'sidebar_nav_top', null, array('child' => true) ); pagelines_register_section('SideBarNavBottom', 'sidebar_nav_bottom', null, array('child' => true) ); } .... here the example web site cha.camille.pro If this can help I will be glad ! Camille Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kastelic 6 Report post Posted March 5, 2011 Awesome, thanks. Everything working for you right? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
princealbert 0 Report post Posted March 5, 2011 Hi Jimmmy, Yes thanks, just to be a freelance web developer/designer living in south of France it's not so easy !!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
loraxio 1 Report post Posted June 22, 2011 I also needed to add the Secondary Nav to the Sidebar, but I can't seem to see the two custom sections in the Template admin area (under Sidebar 1 or 2). Any assistance would be appreciated. FYI, I created the two files and named them sidebar_nav_bottom.php & sidebar_nav_top.php and uploaded them to the Base Sections folder...I also made the changes to the functions.php file adding the two new sections. Nothing so far. Would be great to get it working. Here is the site so far http://wcoga.com/beta Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
timlinson 3 Report post Posted June 22, 2011 I also made the changes to the functions.php file adding the two new sections. What's the exact code you used to register the sections? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
loraxio 1 Report post Posted June 22, 2011 Copied and pasted from above. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
loraxio 1 Report post Posted June 22, 2011 Tim, This is what my functions.php file looks like in the section with the added sections: <?php // Setup -- Probably want to keep this stuff... // Set up action for section registration... add_action('pagelines_register_sections', 'base_sections'); /** * Hello and welcome to Base! First, lets load the PageLines core so we have access to the functions */ require_once( dirname(__FILE__) . '/setup.php' ); // For advanced customization tips & code see advanced file. //--> require_once(STYLESHEETPATH . "/advanced.php"); // ==================================================== // = YOUR FUNCTIONS - Where you should add your code = // ==================================================== // ADDING CUSTOM SECTIONS ------- // // Register a Drag&Drop HTML Section for the admin. // A pullquote section was created here for demonstration purposes // Sections should be named: section.[your section name].php and placed in the sections folder. function base_sections(){ /* Your custom sections get registered in here... PageLines Register Section Arguments: 1. Section Class Name, 2. Directory name (or filename if in root of 'sections' folder), 3. Init Filename (if different from directory name), 4. Section setup and variable array */ pagelines_register_section('BasePullQuote', 'pullquote', null, array('child' => true) ); pagelines_register_section('BaseSidebar','sb_base', null, array('child' => true) ); pagelines_register_section('SideBarNavTop', 'sidebar_nav_top', null, array('child' => true) ); pagelines_register_section('SideBarNavBottom', 'sidebar_nav_bottom', null, array('child' => true) ); } Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cmunns 16 Report post Posted June 23, 2011 If there is nothing showing up it means that you have not registered them correctly. what does your functions.php file say Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cmunns 16 Report post Posted June 23, 2011 if you copied exactly it should be showing up. Do you have the menu and just not the section or vice versa? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
loraxio 1 Report post Posted June 24, 2011 neither show for me... i am assuming they should be showing up in the Template Setup area of the settings. I have actually gotten the concept working with a plugin called page-list that allows you to only show pages that are related to the parent...works great. I think I can get by with the plugin. But it is weird that I con't get the custom section working. I think that in the future I might want to try and get that kinda thing working. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites