Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

kevinpaffrath

Current vs 100% Java: Concerns?

kevinpaffrath

Hi Pagelines Community,

What are the downsides of going 100% Java in the new Pagelines?

Here's the thing: I'm not a programmer. I was only good at hacking my highschool's network to play video games during my Java classes back in the day. Needless to say, I barely know programing -- but can get by with basic coding (thank you Pagelines for doing the rest). However, I'm under the impression that a lot of platforms are 'anti Java.' For instance, Apple's push towards HTML5. My thinking might be totally outdated; I don't study coding as much as I should.

Anyway, could anyone help me shed some light on this? Why do I feel concerned / bad about 100% Java? Maybe it's just "dev-side" and not client-side.

Bah, I'm sorry; clueless here.

Kevin

www.MeetKevin.com

jacecar

Unless I've missed the mark completely, the transition from current to 100% java is a good thing -- even for non-developers.  The reasons for this are varied, but it boils down to performance and malleability/customization.

Let's say that DMS and Platform 5 are 100% equal in terms of performance.  I don't believe they are -- because one of the goals of Platform 5 is to improve performance -- but for sake of argument, let's say they are.

Currently, DMS uses a lot of code, but certain sections are more static.  This means that to get around those static portions they want to change, developers need to write a lot more code -- far more code than would be needed if they could just change that static feature directly.  More code (in this case) equals a degradation in performance.  Something that might take 10 lines of code could well take 100 lines or more, merely to work around a static object that isn't adjustable.

Conversely, Platform 5 won't have any of those static limitations, so something that would require 10 lines of code costs...  well, 10 lines of code.