Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

stephenoke

Enable LESS in customise plugin

stephenoke

Hi, I am hoping I can get some help with what I assume will be a pretty simple issue.

I am new to LESS and I am trying to get the style.less file working on my site. As per the advice in the Pagelines docs, I have activated the customize plugin, created a new document called style.less in the pagelines-customize folder and put some css in there to test. The css is not being applied.

Is this all that is required to apply the style.less file or have I missed any steps? I put the same code in the style.css file and this works fine so I don't think there are any problems with the code.

Thanks in advance

Danny

Hi Stephen,

There is no need to use the Customize plugin, use a child theme instead, as they're basically the same. So you can use either the PL Starter themes or my Skeleton theme.

http://answers.pagelines.com/how-to-install-a-child-theme

http://dannyholt.github.io/skeleton/

Please search our forums, before posting!

stephenoke

Thanks, I will have a look at those articles. Will activating a child theme reset all of my changes made within the DMS editor or just the additional CSS?

Danny

A child theme shouldn't reset your DMS layouts etc.., the only thing that may change are widgets and your menus, as they're specific to theme. However, as this is a child theme, that shouldn't be the case. For sanity reasons, it would be wise to perform a backup prior to enabling the child theme.

If you have custom CSS in the DMS editor, you will want to copy and paste this into the child theme editor and if you have any custom CSS/LESS in the customize plugin, copy and paste this into the child themes style.css or style.less files, depending on the code you're using.

Please search our forums, before posting!

• Similar Content

• GreyFoxWebDesign
      By GreyFoxWebDesign+