This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

I Little Widgetizer & Sidebar Help... Please!

I am a bit confused by the following situation:

I have WPMU DEV's Custom Sidebar Plugin installed, with a few sidebars created, "Sidebar 1", "Sidebar 2", "Sidebar 3", etc.

I have a Page Template, let's call it "Page With Sidebar".

Within the "Page With Sidebar" template, I have a Widgetizer box, with a Default Sidebar as "Sidebar 1".

Everything works up until this point.

Now, I create a new Page.

From the Edit Page screen, I select DMS Page Setup ->  Load PageLines Template -> "Page With Sidebar".

I scroll a little further down the screen to the Sidebar Menu, that states:

"Here you can replace the default sidebars. Simply select what sidebar you want to show for this post!"

And, I select "Sidebar 2", publish the page, and go to view it to see - "Sidebar 1" on the page.

What am I missing?

Hi Brandon,

I have no experience with that Sidebar plugin. However, if you want to create custom sidebars, we recommend this plugin as we know it works with DMS.

Also, DMS doesn't include an option when creating a page/post to select the sidebar from that screen. Therefore, that is likely coming from the plugin and may not be supported in DMS. To select a sidebar in DMS, you need to use the sections options.

Also, please be aware that you may need to create a different template if you want to use different Sidebars on different pages.

Please search our forums, before posting!

• Similar Content

• TallTree
      By TallTree+
      I am trying to remove the sidebar areas from my child theme (pagelines.com) from the post pages on a site:
      The content is all the way to the left and very small, and the two sidebar areas are taking up a lot of space.
      What I'm after is content to the left, taking up most of the space, and then a small sidebar width on the right for widgets.