Sign in to follow this  
smitzer

Newbie floods forum - sorry

smitzer

Hi, I'm fairly new to Wordpress - though not to HTML. I love your work, so I purchased the iBlog theme. I found the Dashboad tricky, so I upgraded to the Pro version. However, I'm finding the tools really difficult - and the forum hasn't answered my questions. Apologies, as this is probably me being thick! My test site is http://www.copywriters.co.uk/database/ My issues are: 1) How do I narrow the overall size of the web page? 2) How do I remove the datestamp/name/comment on postings (I followed the forum suggestion but my updated core css file didn't do the job. NB: sometimes the forum says replace a file, eg. 'custom css' but doesn't say where this file exists) 3) How do I remove the footers/links 4) How do I remove the white space that appears between the header and any post entries like it appears here [url=http://www.copywriters.co.uk/database/?p=7]null Sorry for the Qs. Best rgds Steve

cmunns

Can do all this with CSS, which is probably easiest. Since you know HTML are you familiar with FireBug. That will help tremendously to identify selectors. e.g. narrowing the page `#wrapper {width:950px;}` etc, etc. Also, your menu appears to be acting funny

smitzer

Thanks. No, I don't know firebug, though I can check it out. If it highlights the CSS items that needs changing - can this all be done in one CSS file in particular (with a text editor) - or various ones in the folders. What's happening with my menu? Looks Ok from here. Thanks for your help. Steve

michaelmiles