This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Placement and nesting of objects on the page

Hello everyone.

As a newbie i am still unsure of how to best place objects on a page, can GetMeWebDesign or anyone else help?

Do i use columns first, then add items or do i use a text box or a PLNextbox.

It is not an issue with a bit of text across the page in a single column, but when it comes to laying out items on a page it gets a bit more tricky.

I have an example and would like to know what the best practice would be to pay something like this out.

Currently i have 2 PLNextboxes next to each other.

the left holding some text and an image (source placed into the text editor under the text)

The right holding the form shortcode.

But it feels like i should have three PLNextboxes.

left column would have the text in one PLNextbox and below it in another PLNextbox i would have a mediabox for the image

On the right would be a PLNextbox for the form.

I have attached an example of what i mean - I really would appreciate a best practice 101 for placing items in specific positions on the page.

Columns vs. PLNextbox and within those, how to break things like the address into 2 columns in a PLNEXTBox.

Thanks again.

You do ask tough questions... How long is a piece of string? 

You have given two different layouts and asked which one is best practise. Also, how do you want the elements to appear when you resize the browser (ie on a mobile)

• If you use columns, whatever is in the first column will appear before those in the second column.
  • If you didnt use columns, but added 5 PLNextBoxes, as in the second image, adjusting the width to get your desired appearance on a desktop, on resizing you would have, in this order:
  1. Contact Details
  2. Contact Form
  3. Telephone numbers
  4. Address
  5. Image