Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

geoff

Simple Form on Landing Page

geoff

I may just be stupid, but I have spent far too much time searching so I must just be looking for the wrong thing.

I am brand new to DMS/Pagelines. I know how to do this in HTML but can't, for the life of me, grok how to do this in DMS2 from the docs.

I want to create a landing page with a 2 column layout. Easy.

I want to put a call to action with a button. Easy.

I want to have a form field for someone to enter their email address before clicking aforementioned CTA. Bueller? Bueller?

So I don't see a form object in the sections, and I don't see anything having to do with forms or form fields in the docs. What am I missing here?

Form, action = post to database somewhere. Form field = textbox, type = email. Basic stuff. Why is this not obvious nor intuitive in DMS2? 

Someone please point me in the right direction.

jmad

There isn't a form component built into DMS2.  Or not as far as I know.  It would certainly be nice and maybe that's one of the components the Pagelines team could add for the Developers Club.

I use the Contact Form7 plugin and have had good results.  I also see gravity forms mentioned as a good solution.

geoff

Okay, I guess that makes sense. But why is there NO documentation on how to do it? It seems like it is something everyone would use, so why not have a docs section "Using Forms with DMS2"? 

I'm making this up as I go, trying to learn to use DMS because I appreciate how simple it makes it to create nice designs.

But I am not a professional developer. I'm someone who has used HTML for over a decade on personal projects, and hoping to gain more capability by using DMS. I just don't understand why there isn't a simple way to "drag and drop" a "form element" into a page. Seems so basic to me. At least have documentation on how to do it. :-/

jmad

geoff

I can't fix the documentation.  But I can suggest...