Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

JawDesigns

Help in Speeding up my Websites

JawDesigns

Hello,

I am posting here because I am basically pretty stuck and I was hoping that someone could please advise on the following. I've worked mainly as a Product Designer in the visual effects (software) industry so I'm pretty new to the whole web design industry. I discovered Pagelines from some research and I simply brought a hosting package, learnt some CSS, installed Wordpress and away I went.

However, now I am on my third website and I've suddenly started to realise that my sites are sometimes running very slowly and making changes in DMS is taking forever to Publish and refresh a page. This could be because I brought a hosting plan from reg123 and I now have three Wordpress installs (separate websites) running off of the same domain (hosting plan called: jawdesigns.co.uk). I never realised that I had a certain amount of allocated PHP memory on my hosting plan which every site is using.

Therefore in my hosting plan I have the following set-up:

Root (My Wordpress Website)

Folder 1 (Client Wordpress Website)

Folder 2 (Client Wordpress Website)

Therefore considering that I am aiming to continue building more DMS sites I was wondering if anyone could point me into a solid way of working so that I can continue building client websites that load quickly. Are there any doc's or specific ways that would work better with DMS and Wordpress. I have realised that I can not continue working as I am because I will soon run out of allocated PHP especially because I'm already using Woocommerce on one site which is quite PHP heavy. I am sure this could be the reason for DMS sometimes being exceptionally slow so any help, links or resources would be exceptionally grateful. 

Thanks, James 

James Wilson

Designer & Photographer

Danny

Hi James,