Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

motionltd

Internet Explorer issues with DMS help!

motionltd

Hi guys. I have a site I have almost finished. The client just called fretting that a client of theirs can't view the site using Internet Explorer 8. I have done some checking here and I've ticked the Ensble debug option and just installed Browser Specific CSS. I have done anything with it yet, just turned it on. Do I just add .ie to all my custom css? This could take a long time.

However, my main concern is that IE 8 doesn't seem to be picking up the basic layout of the page, the divs etc, its just listing everything in one vertical line. Surely this is beyond some css tweaking? Is there anything else I can do?

Please help! Site goes live on Friday.

Ben

motionltd.com

motionltd

Hi Guys. I found this on the forum. Would this help me?

Sorry, when it comes to anything but CSS I am a bit of a novice. Any help would be great. I've invested allot of time in this site, client is about to pay. But his wife uses IE8 and is saying the site looks terrible! I really hope theres a solution. I'm guessing there must be as EI still has 50% market share, and from a quick search I see most of those users are still on IE8, so its a big user group.

"probably your user is running comparability mode in ie8 without knowing it. you can help to disable it by adding this to the header scripts area:

<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=9; IE=8; IE=7; IE=EDGE" />"

Ben

motionltd.com

Danny

Hi,

To be honest, any site would look terrible in IE8, if I was you, I would recommend his wife to install Chrome or at the very least update IE. As IE8 is probably a security risk and doesn't support HTML5 and CSS3, so she isn't seeing the web as it was intended. That is the reason why we only provide limited support in DMS for IE8.