Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

sheilahoff

Hooker usage

sheilahoff

I'm more designer than developer so I'm new to hooks. I have been searching and reading but need some help. First off the thread I found suggested installed Action Map to help understand hooks. I cannot find it anymore. The link to it was bad. Is it still available for DMS?

I'm trying to do what this thread recommends in order to make the User Submission plug-in only available to logged in contributors. http://wordpress.org/support/topic/limiting-posts-to-registered-users?replies=11

I've tried to add the recommended php code in several different places using Hooker. But I guess either I don't know which hook to use or else this code doesn't work that way.

add_shortcode( 'member', 'member_check_shortcode' );

function member_check_shortcode( $atts, $content = null ) {
	 if ( is_user_logged_in() && !is_null( $content ) && !is_feed() )
		return do_shortcode($content);
	return '<p>Please register to add content.</p>';
}

The instructions then say to add [member][user-submitted-posts][/member] where I want the submission form hidden until logged in. The last place I tried it was before postloop. And all that does is display the code at the top of the page. Then it displays the form with the short code before and after it. Clearly I'm missing a step. Hopefully someone can set me straight.

Is there an easier/better way to do this or am I close and I just need the correct hook?

Site under dev using WP 3.8 and newest DMS: http://tca.hoffmangraphics.com/article-submission-form/

Thanks,

Sheila

Sheila Hoffman | Hoffman Graphics | Seattle

greenfly

Hi Sheila 

The Action map is not part of the Pro Tools Plugin - you will find the checkbox to turn on Action map in the Plugin settings. 

Once activated the Action map toggle link is in the top left of your home page in the WP admin bar 

However, i don't think you need to use Hooker for this.