Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

janpeeters

Retina?

janpeeters

Hi,

I've installed the WP Retina 2x plugin on www.lovo.nu. I read on the forum that you (Pagelines) are also using this plugin but that thread was more then a year old.

I would think that a plugin like this would serve non-retina images to non-retina devices. But when I look which images are loaded it are the full size 1600x1200 images even in iBoxes. So that ads quite a bit up to the load time of my site hahaha.

I realize that this might be quite a niche question but if anyone has experience with this and can give some advice I would be most grateful.

Thanks a lot, Jan

Simon

The ibox images are supposed to be icons etc, uploading a 1600x1200 image is a bit overkill. I have no experience with that plugin, retina is way over my budget ;)

janpeeters

Hi Simon,

Yeah hehe, I know it's ridiculous overkill and only my phone does retina.

I uploaded this large image because the plugin is supposed to render smaller images but the large one get shown in the iBox. I would think the iBoxes would use a WP thumb-image. But I don't know enough of the DMS code to analyse if it doesn't do that.

A year ago you replied that Pagelines v2 (anyway that's how I interpreted it) used the plugin. 

http://forum.pagelines.com/topic/22567-retina-hidpi-grahics-and-images-in-pagelines/?hl=retina

Do you use retina for the DMS site? And if so how? [if you have the time] ;-)

Thanks, Jan

Andrew

Our preferred approach these days is to simply double up on the size of the images, the overhead for catering to non-retina devices in exchange for bandwidth isn't worth it. Bandwidth speeds are getting too high, and its just not an issue.

janpeeters

Hi Andrew,

that makes perfect sense.Thanks for the info!  Just measure the preferred size of the iBox and then x2. 

Jan

sheilahoff