Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

detritustroll

Navbar Hover Colour

detritustroll

Hi Guys and Gals,

Hoping this is a simple thing.  Firstly I am NOT a programmer of any sort (basic HTML is about it)

I am using the DMS wordpress theme, I am using NavBar which is brilliant.  What I cant do is change the hover colour (set as blue)  I can set the bar colour, i can set the underline colour, but not the actual onmouseover colour if that makes sense? (will put a link to show if i can how).

If someone could tell me if 

a: I can change it

b: how to change it and which file I need to edit?

That would be brilliant

Thank You

Tom.Screen%20Shot%202013-11-16%20at%2017.52.

Danny

Hi,

In order to change the hover state background color and text, you will need to use Custom CSS. You can do this by using your browsers inspection tools, I recommend Google Chromes.

For more info regarding customizing DMS, see our documentation - http://docs.pagelines.com/customize/how-to-customize

However, if you're using a child theme you can add the following code to your child themes style.less file and these variables will override the default color(s).

@dropdownLinkBackgroundHover: red;
@dropdownLinkBackgroundActive: red;

Please search our forums, before posting!

detritustroll

Sorry, 

Am still lost, I have go into editor on the wordpress theme (and cannot find style.less) I also dont quite know what you mean by using browers inspection tools??

Tom

James B

Hi Tom

The browser inspection tools allow you to look into the live page to see how its coded. Examples of these types of tools are firebug and chrome dev tools - https://developers.google.com/chrome-developer-tools/?csw=1

The style.less file doesn't show in the theme editor unfortunately, you'd need to edit this file using a code editor and uploading via ftp. Or you can place your LESS/Css into the DMS control panel via the custom code section instead to take affect.