Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

arlomiller

Menu and Button Colors

arlomiller

Ok, DMS is pretty freaking amazing.

I made this site using it:

http://millerfamilydermatology.com/

I'm not a web designer.  I'm a doctor.  I like computers, tech, design, and art, so I thought I would try making my website myself using DMS.  Its gone well, had to ask a lot of questions here and do a lot by trial and error.

Having gone through a website design process as a novice, I wanted to say that I think that hands down, the single most frustrating thing with DMS and, I think the biggest opportunity for improvement, is giving it an easy interface for controlling the menu and button colors.

I ended up trying to use CSS to alter the menu color and create some new button colors.  They are working (I think) in chrome and safari, but do not seem to function in Firefox and Safari.

I've seen enough to realize that button and menu styling is pretty much an infinitely complex thing, BUT I think that for casual users like myself, a relatively modest interface could probably be made to give the user control over colors in these elements. 

batman

HI arlomiller

Your button colors works fine to me in Chrome, Safari and Firefox.

I´m a newbie too and when you learn to use the CSS color is not so difficult.

I like your site, my congratulation !

;)

Life is too short to remove USB safely ...

Danny

Hi,

Your site looks awesome, really nice job.

FireFox, Chrome, IE, Safari all use different browser engines and therefore, display certain CSS properties differently or require additional code. This is why you may have issues in FireFox. However, Safari and Chrome use the same browser engine, so if it displays OK in Chrome it should display fine in Safari also, I just this moment checked and your buttons appear to be working, just as Batman said above.