Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

altonc

Category Descriptions in Header (or elsewhere) on Archive Pages

altonc

I'm trying to get a description to display at the top of a category archive page (auto generated). Like this - where this information is defined in the header, and the category archive below.

I've added descriptions to each category (Dashboard > Category > Edit Category). There's a statement there under the description box "The description is not prominent by default; however, some themes may show it." It seems DMS does not.

I've tried adding sections (Text Box, etc) to the Header and using the "global" or "local"  Section Options as defined in this forum post  (I couldn't get this to work in general) wasn't working out as an option either.

If you have any suggestions, please be specific as I'm a newbie. If there's a CSS solution please paste representative code.

Much appreciated.

Thanks,
A

Danny

Hi,

If you want to have the category name appear like this, you will need to use a hook, see our hooks documentation for advice and examples and see here for info on the category function.

http://codex.wordpress.org/Function_Reference/get_the_category

Please search our forums, before posting!

altonc

Thanks for the suggestion. I'll look into that option.

I have to ask about using the "global" or "local"  Section options as an alternative - since, by all descriptions this should work too.

As I mentioned, I've not been able to get those to work as expected. Whatever component I placed in the header section, or elsewhere, and only altered the content in the "local" option, the effect was still global.

Here's a demonstration

I set a text box in the header and only changed the "local" title. No matter which page I edit, all of the pages are updated to the last "local" edit.

Please advise.

Thanks.

altonc

I'm noticing now this "local" may refer to the type of page being presented.