Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

sheilahoff

Really basic layout questions

sheilahoff

I am a designer with website experience but not full blown programmer or developer. I came to PL framework after a few years on Headway. I have only 2 sites started in it and none completed yet. But I got the hang of it quickly and had thought I'd stay with it rather than DMS. But now that I realize I won't have access to the add-ons for the framework I guess I need to see if I can make a go of it in DMS.

I've been trying to sort how to use the DMS and the simplest things seems daunting. Like how to make the content body background white while the rest of the background is another color or image. Should be simple.The way I "fudged" it was to leave the Content Base Color white then I uploaded a tiny image of the color I wanted and uploaded it as a background image. But is there a CSS way to do it that? I did just find the advanced setting to turn on framework compatability. So I was able to also do it in there. But that will be going away. So I need to know how this is supposed to work.

I also am not seeing any way to upload a site banner image! I guess I'm either missing it or I'm supposed to be a coder and just know how?! The best I figured out was to use a Media Box section. Is that right or how "should" it be done?

And in the framework there was a nice simple way to add the social media icons to the header....don't see it. I've added our social media info in the Global Options but that doesn't make them appear anywhere. Should it? How should this be done?

And a nice easy way to add a drop shadow around the body if it was blog-width...don't see it.