Sign in to follow this  
dhrose

PageLines questions?

dhrose

I'm new to PageLines, but I have done some customizing with the Thematic Wordpress theme and I know enough html and css to create a basic site. Since purchasing the Pro upgrade I have been trying to learn the api and create (yet another) test site. have a few questions about the basic api: Centering the site logo in branding div... is that a custom css situation? Putting a border around the content area and footer... does this require the fixed layout and or is this achieved through css only? It seems with all the talk about the drag and drop interface a lot of customization still needs to be done with custom css... I've been working with Squarespace sites for awhile and it seems there is a lot of flexibility for customizing areas of content in the Squarespace api. Not much in PageLines? Except with custom css... I'm still reviewing the vids and documentation but maybe I expected more "styling" from the api then just dragging modules into the page... I'l admit I do not know enough about wordpress to completely create a custom theme, but would like to find a platform that I could "design" then "construct" quicker. Thanks!

Jenny
First, welcome to PageLines! :) 1. Centering the logo will be custom CSS unless your header image is equivalent to the width of your site. 2. Border should be layout independent, and added through CSS. 3. Drag and drop refers to putting sections where you want them, not the colors and such. I have personally asked for more color and design options but the CEO has determined that he wants simplicity by giving you the tools to create an amazing layout and then you can design it how you wish. There are also several Store items available that make customization easier. Hope that helps!

Jenny :: Web designer at Simple Mama (follow me at @simplemamacom)

Check out Share Me, a social sharing add-on for DMS that is super simple to set up.

dhrose