Sign in to follow this  
toasthosting

Adding sidebar mucks up all the other sidebars

toasthosting

Hi everyone, yet another question from me :) I want to add another "content sidebar". I am still learning PageLines, so I am really just mucking around on test sites. But I want to try out the layout of many different plugins to see what looks better. So at the moment, I need more content sidebars so I can add bits and pieces and then move them around easily. I've got a content sidebar above the main loop for example. This is how I believe I should add a sidebar: Copy the folder sb_content into the base theme's "sections" folder, and inside section.php rename the class & title etc., in this case "new_sb". Then, go into the store and click "refresh store". This then gives me "new_sb" as a drag and drop section. But when I go into appearance>widgets, the list of sidebars is screwed up. What was called "primary sidebar" is now called "new_sb", and every other sidebar takes the name of the sidebar above it. I've not actually touched any other files, just added the new_sb ones. The content is similarly mucked up. Content from the old "primary sidebar" moves down to the next sidebar. I've seen reference to this problem elsewhere but not seen a resolution. Thanks!

Jenny
Hmm.. well have you added the sidebar to the desired location in Templates? Have you changed ALL of the old file name references, even the one in the file header?

Jenny :: Web designer at Simple Mama (follow me at @simplemamacom)

Check out Share Me, a social sharing add-on for DMS that is super simple to set up.

toasthosting