Sign in to follow this  
jens0771

Display multiple most recent post of different categories on page

jens0771

So my title is a bit large. What I was wondering is if it's possible on my main page to construct a layout to show the most recent post of a particular category, for different categories on the same page. So an example is on main page under my highlighted area... I would have 2 posts side by side (like boxes) and each post would be the most recent post of a particular category, among many categories. So my blog page shows the usual all categories but by date. Say I've got two categories, "Featured Article" and "Tutorial". I want the most recent post of these two categories to show on my homepage. I've looked at plugins and all I can seem to find are ones that will display the title of the most recent post, or a list and not the actual excerpt along with thumbnail, just like you'd see on the blog page. Any ideas? I'm not very good at all with PHP but I'm willing to do what it takes to get this. Thanks so much in advance! P.S. I searched and just found a lot of people talking about a whole page that contains just a particular category, which I am not looking for.

Rob