Sign in to follow this  
eclipsemusic

Placing widgets using hooks

eclipsemusic

Hello guys! I have tried to look into this hook thing but I can't figure how to use them (I'm really a novice in this). So can someone help me through this step by step. Here is the "problem": I would like to add my audio player widget into the navigation bar, basically replacing the search box (exactly into the same space). How do I do this? With hooks?

Rob
Actually, no. You can add a link to your audio player into the navigation via the menu. Go to Dashboard > Appearance > Menus and add a Custom Link to the audio player. Now that's a generic player, not specific to one audio clip. However, if you need to play a specific audio clip, then yes, you need a hook. Check this http://www.pagelines.com/wiki/Hooks as an intro to hooks. This will introduce where to add one http://www.pagelines.com/wiki/How_to_Add_Customization

Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur

eclipsemusic
I would like the audio player to actually be in the nav bar, not a link to the player. I have the Audio player plugin... Sorry I messed that up in the the last message. What I ment to ask was how to place the audio player plugin with hooks into the same place where the search box is if enabled. Or do I need hooks for that?

Rob
I'm sorry. I misunderstood. Have you tried adding the code for your audio player into the custom link? It might actually show the actual player there, not as a link. Otherwise, could you provide a link to your site and we'll try to assist with the right kind of hook. Thanks for your patience.

eclipsemusic