Sign in to follow this  
dainiswmichel

how to fix comments only working for admin on pages

dainiswmichel

if i am logged in as an admin, i can reply to on pages. if i am logged in as a new user who has not commented before, when i click reply, nothing happens and there is no "leave a comment" form. if i am logged in as a new user who has not commented before and i visit a post, i can reply. i have "must have a previously approved comment" selected, because it's important for this site. however, even when i uncheck that option, the "leave a comment" form does not appear to a subscriber who is logged in (right now i have only tested subscribers who are logged in who have never commented before --- but these are the most important people who need to be able to respond on pages). i tried changing the page template and "custom page" does not have the comments section available when you go to drag and drop page elements/components. i checked hide comments and it does hide the existing comments. can you tell me what i can still try to activate comments on pages? (PlatformBase 1.4.1)

Danny
Hi Dainis, Can you try disabling all active plug-ins and see if this resolve the issue, reply back informing us of the outcome.

Please search our forums, before posting!

dainiswmichel
yes, it still happens even when all active plugins have been disabled.

dainiswmichel
no, and after i resolve the current issues, i do not plan on upgrading the site -- likely for at least a year. and i do not plan on installing pagelines 2.0 on it, because getting everything to work has been so tricky that i want to get things to where the site is working properly and then enjoy some peace and stability with the site. i know this may seem unrelated, and i have not verified this 100%, but the issue may only be happening in firefox on mac. that's just a maybe possibly related post: http://www.pagelines.com/forum/discussion/16675/why-would-my-videos-play-once-and-then-show-an-error#Item_2

Danny