Sign in to follow this  
israelgenealogy

Is there a way to insert a blog into a page?

israelgenealogy

I'm not sure if this is a WordPress question or a PageLines question, but is there a shortcode or other way to insert blog Posts into a Page? If so, can I choose how many? Also, can I choose a specific category of posts? Thanks

AaronS
I'm a novice, so take my feedback with a grain of salt. My understanding is that you can only have one 'dynamic' page which is where blog posts appear. The rest of your pages are intended to be for static content. I wanted to do something similar to what (I think) you're interested in doing, which is that I wanted to have (a) one main dynamic page as well as (b) separate pages for each contributor to my site. This way, all posts would appear on the main dynamic page AND each contributor would have a list of their individual posts on their static page. I installed two plugins: [url="http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/category-posts/"]Category Posts[/url] and [url="http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/slayers-custom-widgets/"]Custom Widgets[/url]. The first allows you to create a widget which lists posts only from particular categories. The second allows you to choose which widget shows up on which page. Not sure if this is exactly what you're looking for, but I hope it helped.

israelgenealogy
Hmmm. Custom Widgets sounds interesting. I was wondering how to do that. Cateogry Posts only lists links to the posts in that category, not the actual posts, so it's not exactly what I need. I'm wondering if it makes more sense to add the boxes and callout I'm using on this page to the default page, and then re-direct people to a different page when they login. Not exactly what I wanted, but perhaps that can work too.

israelgenealogy
Actually, no, that was my initial problem, that you can't define the default page. Somehow there must be a way to set up a page through PageLines that has blog content and boxes and callouts, etc.

kastelic