Sign in to follow this  
seerinteractive

What Permalinks are allowed?

seerinteractive

I've used WordPress a fair amount but this is my first project using Pagelines Pro. I have the most updated version of Wordpress and Pagelines 1.5. I generally like to set my sites up with this permalink structure: /%category/%postname%/ I would be fine however just using /%postname%/ Right now no permalink structure is working for me except for default. The only recommendations I've seen from searching the forums is to modify the .htaccess file which I am not sure how to do. Any step by step instructions that I could take to get a custom structure working would be greatly appreciated.

Rob
Here's my best suggestion, even though the permalinks issue is solely WordPress and not theme based. 1. FTP into your site and CHMOD the .htaccess file to 777. 2. Go to Dashboard > Settings > Permalinks and change your permalink structure as you wish. I've found that search engines love /%postname%/%post_id% or in reverse. That's worked very well to jump my site from 300,000 pageviews monthly to 2Million. 3. Save. The changes to .htaccess are written dynamically. You won't see the code on the screen to add to .htaccess because WordPress will have already done it. 4. Return to your site via FTP and return the CHMOD of .htaccess to 644. Your permalinks will be updated.

Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur

cfimortgage
Put your permalinks back to default then then use custom and use: [code]/%postname%[/code] The / at the end might be giving you issues, but you want to set it back to default first so it can rebuild the list.

stoltz