Sign in to follow this  
ryanjohnjackson

Font and Image clarity tips?

ryanjohnjackson

Hi, I've said it before in here I'm new to much of dev. I am a making a few sites right out of the gate for free. One of them is me redoing the website for my job which is a public library. I have been throwing in my own time at home since I'm not the web guy here I'm the IT guy. I might add I have 14 years with photoshop and I've worked on fixing thousands of logos in Illustrator for an awards company; so I have some sense of what things should look like. On my home mac with ff8, my home pc with IE8, my work pc with ubuntu/FF and win7 FF/IE8 my logo's and fonts look perfect. Logo is clean/clear and the menu is clean and smooth. BUT my boss's IE7 the font looks digital and the logo is hazy. I thought it was his browser and pc settings but they looks normal for smoothing and compression. On another PC I opened FF8 and IE 8. IE 8 shows it perfectly and FF8 shows the font digitized... The logo also looks hazy on that machine. I checked the prefs no compression and font smoothing has to be on or IE8 wouldn't have the font smooth. HUH? (The body has an image that only certain gamma's can see. That I'll have to alter. On my mac it's too visable on windows most LCDs cant see it.) 1. Best tip for maintaining font and image quality for most platforms 2. IE7/8 seems to squish the image at the bottom of the page and on another site I did. FF looks fine. Very rough draft of the site so far, most the links are blank pages for placement's sake. http://wppl.ryanjohnjackson.com/ As usual thanks!

ryanjohnjackson
Forgot to mention, I know we have 0 control over people upping their contrast or turning off font smoothing.

ryanjohnjackson