begreen 0 Report post Posted August 30, 2011 I've set up a bbpress forum and followed all of the instructions available on the documentation for integrating Platform Pro and bbpress. All is well until I attempt to Deep Integrate by editing the 'bb-config.php' file adding: require_once(dirname(__FILE__) . '/../wp-load.php'); When this line is included in the bb-config.php file I receive an "HTTP Error 500 (Internal Server Error): An unexpected condition was encountered while the server was attempting to fulfill the request." in chrome and just a blank white page in firefox when attempting to view the bbpress page (mysite.com/forum). The problem is similarly described here: (http://bbpress.org/forums/topic/deep-integration-wordpress-bbpress-bb-configphp-errors), and it is suggested that there may be a conflict between functions but it has yet to be resolved. I appreciate any insight. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
catrina 103 Report post Posted August 31, 2011 I've read on the WordPress.org forum that it could be a file permissions issue: http://wordpress.org/support/topic/http-error-500-internal-server-error. Please read the docs before posting. Please do not private message me unless I ask you to. Designer | Catrina Dulay Founder | Catrina and Mouse Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted August 31, 2011 Not that it will make you feel much better, but I too am having issues of my own with Buddypress and bbPress. If I weren't already bald, I'd be pulling my hair out. One thing that comes to mind... is this part of that code snippet [code]. '/../wp[/code] Are you absolutely certain that's the proper path? Could you be bold and experiment with the full path to that location? Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
begreen 0 Report post Posted August 31, 2011 @catrina - I altered the permissions, but the problem continues to persist. if I'm not logged in to wordpress, when i visit thewildlifenews.com/forum - i get the error. When I log into wordpress and visit thewildlifenews.com/forum, i am able to access the forum page - but it's not logged in (users not integrated - though they are mapped via bbpress integration plugin - so i can login to bbpress with my wordpress credentials). I can submit the same username/pass as wordpress (mysite.com/wp-login.php), but when i log out instead of reloading the mysite.com/forum i get the error again. @rangelone - I've tried absolute, relative, and every permutation in-between, around above and below :) - to no avail ... same error. I'd like to believe its a path issue ... but if it is i can't figure it out ... i can relate to the frustration ... again ... if i'm logged into wordpress - i can access the forum site and resubmit credentials - but i immediately get the error on logout. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted August 31, 2011 This is odd. I'm going to bump this to a developer. Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
raezerj 0 Report post Posted September 1, 2011 Am having same problem on my site: http://approachguides.com/community Everything works until I install your theme, it asks for the deep integration line of code and I key in the following into the bb-config.php file: require_once(dirname(__FILE__) . '/../blogname/wp-load.php'); Then I just get a white screen. Any suggestions would be great, as I can't find anything on the bbpress forum. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted September 1, 2011 Did you run the BP Compatibility script? Found in the Dashboard > Appearance menu. Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
begreen 0 Report post Posted September 1, 2011 @ rangelone - the problem exists when Buddypress is installed and the BP Compatibility script has been run. Nothing changes when Buddypress is uninstalled and not running, the same problem persists. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted September 1, 2011 Uninstalling Buddypress is not the same as deactivating it. It gets into your database (as does bbPress) with its own tables. If they remain and you deactivate, all you're doing is turning off an existing installation. To remove either, you must remove the tables manually via phpMyAdmin or other database management tools. Additionally, you need to look over your other tables for buddypress and check that it hasn't redirected things like logins to its own components. See http://wpmu.org/how-to-completely-delete-buddypress-from-your-wordpress-site/ Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
begreen 0 Report post Posted September 1, 2011 @rangelone - I uninstalled Buddypress and bbpress by deactivating the plugins (and all associated plugins), deleting them entirely from the server, and manually deleting all associated database tables. I reinstalled bbpress, followed the instructions for installation, integration, and deep integration - which prompted the same error upon logout of bbpress or attempting to access bbpress without first logging into wordpress. It's the same error on the same situation without any conflicting Buddypress tables, files or functions. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted September 1, 2011 Believe me, I have my own frustrations and just had to post my own discussion topic over the bbPress registration form. My frustration level is borderline suicidal. You have my total understanding. I am escalating this to a developer for a solution as I've run out of ideas for you (and me). Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Simon 248 Report post Posted September 1, 2011 These errors are ALWAYS wrong paths. White screens and '500' errors are php crashing out, they nearly always dump into the error_log a descriptive message, usually telling you what file it cant find because the path you have supplied is wrong. here it is simply... lets say buddypress is is /home/dave/public_html/buddypress/ and the blog is in /home/dave/public_html/blog/ you set the PATH to wp-load.php in the blod dir... so require_once( '/home/dave/public_html/blog/wp-load.php' ); that would load that php file.. All the paths you guys are blindly trying are nearly always wrong. Best just to figure out the exact path like i just showed you. to get your PATH just create a new file in your web folder with: [code] [/code] Then load it into a browser. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
begreen 0 Report post Posted September 1, 2011 wordpress is: /home/begreen/public_html/thewildlifenews/ bbpress is: /home/begreen/public_html/thewildlifenews/forum/ the test file (phpinfo.php) created in the wordpress directory alongside (at the same level as) wp-load.php produced as its path: /home/begreen/public_html/thewildlifenews/phpinfo.php inside /home/begreen/public_html/thewildlifenews/forum/wp-config.php i've tried: require_once( '/home/begreen/public_html/thewildlifenews/wp-load.php' ); and require_once(dirname(__FILE__) . '/../wp-load.php'); both produce the error. i've also tried: require_once(dirname(__FILE__) . '/../wp-login.php'); inside bb-config.php - which resulted in a mashup page of bbpress and the wp-login.php page (which is located at the same level as wp-load.php) when loading thewildlifenews.com/forum, my bbpress install. This suggests to me that its calling the correct directory level. it doesn't look to be a path issue. might it have something to do with any functions called in wp-load.php ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted September 1, 2011 @begreen - Pross is one of our developers and is pretty much the guy where the buck stops. I noted that you rejected his response. I'm strongly suggesting you re-read his reply and try that before turning to BuddyPress for their solution. I do not believe this is a theme related issue. Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Simon 248 Report post Posted September 2, 2011 wp-load.php just loads wordpress , its like a bootstrap. If PHP is crashing an error will be logged somewhere, look for an error file either in the wordpress folder, the buddypress folder, or if all else fails your hostin panel will almost always have a link to the apache error log for for user. If you dont have access to apache logs ask your host why not. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
begreen 0 Report post Posted September 2, 2011 here's what I've come up with thus far: the blank screen does not register an error in any log on the server, so I configured an error log via wp-config.php pursuant to these instructions: http://codex.wordpress.org/Editing_wp-config.php#Configure_Error_Log wp-config.php (in wordpress) defines: ('WP_DEBUG', false); - when I set it to true and edit bb-config.php, including: [code]@ini_set('log_errors','On'); @ini_set('display_errors','Off'); @ini_set('error_log','/home/example.com/logs/php_error.log');[/code] above [code]require_once('/var/www/html/thewildlifenews/wp-load.php');[/code] I get the following notices above the forum page (which now displays) when opening www.thewildlifenews.com/forum ~ screenshot: [img]http://www.westernwatersheds.org/error2.jpg[/img] : Also, when I edit [code]define('WP_CACHE', true);[/code] to [code]define('WP_CACHE', false);[/code] in wp-config.php - i am able to access the forum page ~ even when not logged in to wordpress - but the Deep Integration is not working - so when I access the forum page after logging in to wordpress i have to login to bbpress. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Jenny 33 Report post Posted September 3, 2011 I'm not a developer at all, but just looking at your screenshot.. have you showed that to bbpress? Perhaps they have further insight since the error lies with them. Also, have you looked at the functions.bb-template.php file mentioned in the notice (line 1138)? ♥ Jenny :: Web designer at Simple Mama (follow me at @simplemamacom) Check out Share Me, a social sharing add-on for DMS that is super simple to set up. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
begreen 0 Report post Posted September 6, 2011 As it turns out - although I deactivated and removed plugins, the Wordpress plugin 'W3 Total Cache' leaves remnant files in wordpress's 'mysite.com/wp-content/' directory that conflict with the Deep Integration. Upon explicitly removing those 'W3 Total Cache' plugin .php files ~ I was able to reinstall bbpress and Deep Integrate successfully. Thanks to @catrina, @rangelone, @pross, and @simple_mama for your thoughts, patience and willingness to walk through this problem with me ! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Simon 248 Report post Posted September 7, 2011 Congrats :) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Jenny 33 Report post Posted September 10, 2011 I've said it before and I'll say it again.. W3 Total Cache is the devil. ;) ♥ Jenny :: Web designer at Simple Mama (follow me at @simplemamacom) Check out Share Me, a social sharing add-on for DMS that is super simple to set up. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted September 10, 2011 May I close this issue now it's successfully resolved? Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites