Sign in to follow this  
yalegurneyinc

Newbie here/may be an easy fix-need help

yalegurneyinc

I have several questions that are most likely very basic to the average web person (which I am not). My site can currently be viewed @ edit.yalegurney.com * On my home page (can this be a splash page/should it be?), I need things to look a certain way and am having trouble moving them around. For example, next to the video on the left, I want to have my "about" statement there. * Under the video and "about" statement, I then want the 2 column setup that states what we do (event, unit photography and 2 others) * Once you click on any of our services (the 2 column setup), I want 1 page for each to open that will show the rest of the entire statement (it reads "more" at the bottom of each on the home page) and then several videos under that in a 2 or 3 column setup. I know this is simple but I cannot figure out how the layout works to ensure I see what I need. Thanks for ANY help or suggestions.

Rob

In regard to the adjacent "about" statement, that should be a widget in a sidebar. See this link to learn how to get your sidebar next to the feature slider. You can see an example of this at www.epicurus.com/Glossary/ Unfortunately, you're using boxes for About, etc and those don't fit into the sidebar and won't be able to go on the side. You need to place that content in text widgets by going into the Appearances > Widgets area and selecting "Text", dragging it to the sidebar you're using and pasting the content from each box into each text widget. Just add a snippet of the text. Perhaps 25 words or less. Go to Pages on your Dashboard and Add New. Create a new page for each subject and paste the full text you wish people to see. Save it, view it (not preview) and copy the URL. Paste that as a link in each applicable widget. Something like More info... (as you wish it to appear.

Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur

yalegurneyinc