Rob 547 Report post Posted August 11, 2011 Many have questioned how to narrow the width of the Featured Slider to the size of the loop (main content area) and have the sidebar to the side of the slider. I know this has been frustrating many and want to offer a quick solution. In the Platform Pro Custom Code section, under Custom CSS, add the following, replacing XXX with the width of your main content area (as set in Layout Editor. #feature_slider div.default-features {width: XXXpx;} #feature-area {width: XXXpx} .home #feature-footer {width: XXXpx;} .home #feature_slider{width:XXXpx;} .home #sidebar-wrap{margin-top:-680px;} .home #feature-area, .feature-wrap {width: XXXpx;} .home #feature-footer {width: XXXpx;} The result should be to narrow your slider and move the sidebar(s) up. But, remember to change the width of your images to match the set width you desire. Many thanks to Catrina and Makeylon for their generous contributions and help in this. Without them, I'd be just as frustrated looking for a solution. Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
holly 0 Report post Posted August 11, 2011 I tried this and then added this : #feature_slider.default-features div{width: 778px;} #feature-footer.dots{width: 778px;} The first line adjusts the image to the container and the second allows to adjust dot navigation. Sadly this dose not "move the sidebar up", so its pretty pointless... still looking for a solution. Did it work for some of you? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bevj 0 Report post Posted August 11, 2011 good work Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted August 11, 2011 You will likely need to adjust this .home #sidebar-wrap{margin-top:-680px;} to the height you desire. On one implementation of mine it worked perfectly to bring the sidebar up to exactly where I needed it. In another installation, I had to adjust from -680 to -370. Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
artist861 0 Report post Posted August 15, 2011 I successfully moved the sidebar up but the links are not active. What am I doing wrong? My sidebar is on the left. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
artist861 0 Report post Posted August 15, 2011 Never mind I figured it out Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
joie 4 Report post Posted August 15, 2011 would you mind sharing the CSS block ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
s_inderbitzi 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 That's what i was looking for. But i can't get the sidebar up to the top. Its down right under the feature. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 S-inderbitzi, are you using Buddypress? Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
s_inderbitzi 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 no i'm not. why? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 Buddypress has a tendency to push sidebars below the slider and keep them there. Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
s_inderbitzi 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 it is down there since i inserted the css from this post. And its not just at the feature sides but on every side. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 Send a link to your site so I can see what's happening. Thanks. Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
s_inderbitzi 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 http://www.reisen.inderbitzi.ch/?page_id=1119 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 Ah. The featured slider is too wide to allow the sidebar to move up. Look at the width of the map image, plus the width of the slider and consider there is padding around the sidebar and the slider. Add it all up and it's greater than the total width of your layout. Narrow down the slider or widen the layout and it should resolve. Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
s_inderbitzi 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 I don't get it. I'm sorry. How to change the featured slider? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 You follow the CSS code at the top of this discussion and go into the Featured Slider settings and replace the images with ones that are narrower. Whatever number you're using for the width should be no wider than the Content Area width found in the Layout Settings. If your layout is 650px (for example), then your slider should be 630px (allowing for padding). If your slider is 700 and the layout is narrower, the slider will push the content area wider, pushing and keeping your sidebar down. Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
s_inderbitzi 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 ahhh ok. i get it. Thanks. I'll try to change that. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 Okay. No prob. If you need more help, don't hesitate to ask. Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
s_inderbitzi 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 maybe i don't get it right. I just changed the width of the images. Now the slider and the images are 780 and the layout is 804 so that should be working now, shouldn't it? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 The entire layout is 804 or the content area of the layout is 804? Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rob 547 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 In the PlatformPro > Layout Editor, what is total Global Content Width? Former PageLines Moderator, Food Expert and Raconteur Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
s_inderbitzi 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 the global content width is 1052 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
s_inderbitzi 0 Report post Posted August 16, 2011 when you look at the page at the moment. I took away the navigation bar of the feature and you can see the white bar. Maybe thats the problem? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wonderwoman 0 Report post Posted August 17, 2011 Nearly there.... in my case the sidebar disappears completely. If I add the code to change the sidebar, it vanishes off all pages, which really gets fun trying to navigate around the site! I've added "float:right;" to all the css statements above. link to site & page that's the problem: http://www.ornsby.com.au/dummy/lisaperks http://www.ornsby.com.au/dummy/lisaperks/singers/ Any help will be most appreciated! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites