Sign in to follow this  
Keith Vaugh

Colour of navigation menu

Keith Vaugh

Hi Folks How can I change the colour of the navigation menu? I tried adding the code below from another thread, but no luck (replacing the transparent with the colour) ul#menu-main-nav li#menu-item li.menu-item {background-color: transparent;}

cmunns

Try targeting the a element not the li

Keith Vaugh

I'm not sure what you mean (sorry not a programmer). I tried changing the li to a but that didn't sort it. Can you provide some more guidance.

ruthtoledoaltschuler

Hi Keith, While I am also not a programmer, I found this on the forum that really helped me. You will have to substitute the colors in each case for the color you want. For the time being I will make it all white. I placed this in the Custom Code area and chose colors for each element according the what I wanted: #primary-nav .texture { background-color: #ffffff; color: #ffffff!important; } #primary-nav .sf-menu li { background-color: #ffffff; border-color: #DDDDDD; } #primary-nav .sf-menu li a { color: #ffffff; } #primary-nav .sf-menu li a:hover { background-color: #ffffff; color: #ffffff;} #primary-nav .sf-menu .current_page_item a { background-color: #ffffff; color: #ffffff !important; } #primary-nav .sf-menu .current_page_item a:hover { color: #ffffff !important; } To get the color codes you will have to use Photoshop, or Photoshop elements, or some other program that allows you to use a color picker and gives you the number for that specific color. Then you cut and paste the number where ffffff is. Hope this helps as it has helped me.

joie