Sign in to follow this  
jonny41891

Featured/Trending posts like mashable

jonny41891

Is there anyway I can get "Featured/Trending" posts at the top like mashable.com ... I'm using platform pro theme.. thanks in advance

kastelic

For this you would need a plugin. Try searching for "featured posts" in the plugin repository.

jonny41891

Hey Jimmy, thanks for the reply.. I can't quite seem to find one the will display one big feature post to the top left and 2 mini feature posts to the right like mashables.. does anyone have any more suggestions?

jonny41891

I am a novice, does anyone have a easier way or can anyone help me out?

catrina

If you are not familiar with hooks, the video tutorial should help: http://www.pagelines.com/docs/base-child-theme To explain further, a hook is a code inside the theme that allows you to place a certain element (whether it's an image or block of text) in a certain place. You choose a hook from the lists available (in Template Setup) depending on which section of the site you want to put your custom content in. For example, if you want your custom content to be after a single post, you'll choose a hook that is located after that single post. Once it's chosen, you can set up the hook in the function.php file. Does that make sense so far?

Please read the docs before posting. Please do not private message me unless I ask you to.

Designer | Catrina Dulay

Founder | Catrina and Mouse

jonny41891

Hey Catrina, yes I am very familar with hooks and find it very convenient and love it. The only problem is that I just don't know where to begin with a this, could you please shed some light? Thanks in advance :)

catrina
http://codex.wordpress.org/Class_Reference/WP_Query#Order_.26_Orderby_Parameters <- In this section there is a query for "Show popular posts" (popular posts are displayed in order by comment count) Is this what you're looking for in terms of a "featured" post?