Sign in to follow this  
msigel

update installs fail

msigel

This may be a a very basic, silly question, but I'm a newbie to wp and the existing discussions regarding my question, while very concise, still didn't help me solve the problem. platform pro and the base are both already installed and running (this was done by someone other than myself, on a different computer), but I want to install the most current update to take advantage of some new features. First, I downloaded platform pro from the launchpad, but the files automatically unzip when they are downloaded. I figured that I would simply compress the files before I installed them. Once I have zipped the file, I upload and install on the install themes page of WP, then receive the following error message: 30l06s6.png is this because it is already installed and there are no new updates to be installed? am I uploading updates from the wrong location? I tried renaming the folder as one forum post suggested (this did not work- I assume because, as another forum post said, the folder was named something other than 'platformpro'). What step am I missing or what am I doing wrong? I just want to be sure I don't keep getting the error message every time I'd like to update. Thanks!

msigel

for some reason the tinypic url I used to display the screenshot didn't work. perhaps this will: 30l06s6.png

Simon

you need to either delete the theme folder OR rename it to something other than `platformpro`. Then you can upload via zip. Wordpress does not support theme upgrades using the zip uploader interface.

msigel