Sign in to follow this  
jamiewalden

Feature Slider Customization

jamiewalden

Hi guys, I've read that it isn't currently possible to simply have a full width image with no text that links to a page or post. (Or if there is, I can't figure it out.) If there isn't a way to link an image, is there a way to change the color and translucency of the overlay? Here's a link to my site: http://blog.americandatanetwork.com I'd like to be able to use a feature image with a large swath or red like on the first image because it ties the design together with the brand. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

cmunns

to change the overlay, use this selector: ` body #feature_slider .fcontent { background:url( black60.png) repeat; } `

jamiewalden

so would i go into the theme's image files and replace that .png with a red one? Sorry, i'm not really a coder. somewhat self-taught to a bare minimum. thanks for your patience.

jamiewalden

Also, how would i change the button color? As well as getting rid of the black stroke on the text that's on the overlay? Thanks so much.

jamiewalden

Sorry to post again. Just don't want to duplicate your work. I'd like for the button to be white with red text and a slight grey hover. Thanks again.

jamiewalden

I figured out how to remove the text shadow. Now i just need help with making the "more" button white with red text and a red arrow. Or if it's easier, can i just use the normal grey fancy box?

timlinson

For the text: ` #feature_slider .fcontent a, #feature_slider .fcontent a:hover{ background:white; color:red; } ` The arrow is a picture located at images/more-black.png

jamiewalden

That worked except there's still a dark grey outline on the left and top of the button. Also how would i make the text or the button darken when hovered over? Thanks, guys, for your help. it's much appreciated.

Kate

Have you tried setting "border:none"? Also, for the hover... Change your current code to this:

#feature_slider .fcontent a{