Photo
- - - - -

Using a page as a category header!

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 chocolaterebel

chocolaterebel

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 10 December 2010 - 10:40 PM

Oh dear, please forgive my ramblings on this post. I'm a designer, not much of a programmer, so if you can help out I'd be grateful!

I'm trying to either embed a category into a page, or a page into a category. Either will serve the purpose of having a page be a contextual, editable introduction to the content listed in that category. :)

Naturally, I'm running into some problems.

• Plugins:
  • Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

plugin
  • Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

(discontinued by the author) and

Please Login or Register to see this Hidden Content

(a child plugin to Page2Cat)

)
[/*]

I've embedded post-clips from my Audiobook category into my Audiobook page, which acts as a header/introduction to the list of posts. This isn't the only category/page combo that I'm embedding post-clips into; I also have a Podcast page with Podcast category post-clips embedded into it.

There are two plugins which would do what I'd like, but they each have their own drawbacks. To show the difference, I have each page using a different plugin.

The plugin

does

; a list, and applied very easily with bracket code in the page content. It requires no editing of template files. For what it does, it works well, however, there's no pagination nor a simple template system to format the output into magazine style post-clips, nor does it support the display of the audio player (see next plugin).

The plugin combo Page2Cat (sadly discontinued) and its child plugin Category Page Extender work together to

, and it requires inserting code into template.postloop.php. Unfortunately, using this I've run into a bug where the output is duplicated.

Template code: