Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Using a page as a category header!

Question

Posted · Report post

Oh dear, please forgive my ramblings on this post. I'm a designer, not much of a programmer, so if you can help out I'd be grateful! I'm trying to either embed a category into a page, or a page into a category. Either will serve the purpose of having a page be a contextual, editable introduction to the content listed in that category. :) Naturally, I'm running into some problems.

I've embedded post-clips from my Audiobook category into my Audiobook page, which acts as a header/introduction to the list of posts. This isn't the only category/page combo that I'm embedding post-clips into; I also have a Podcast page with Podcast category post-clips embedded into it. There are two plugins which would do what I'd like, but they each have their own drawbacks. To show the difference, I have each page using a different plugin. The plugin List Category Posts does exactly as its name implies; a list, and applied very easily with bracket code in the page content. It requires no editing of template files. For what it does, it works well, however, there's no pagination nor a simple template system to format the output into magazine style post-clips, nor does it support the display of the audio player (see next plugin). The plugin combo Page2Cat (sadly discontinued) and its child plugin Category Page Extender work together to link categories to pages, and it requires inserting code into template.postloop.php. Unfortunately, using this I've run into a bug where the output is duplicated. Template code:

<?php if( function_exists(page2cat_pages)){
	     page2cat_pages(get_the_ID(), 4, 0);
	} ?>