Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

DMS2: Changing Content/Post Loop arrangement/look and feel

DMS2 Post Loop Content

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Roman Breuer

Roman Breuer

    Newbie

  • Members

  • 7 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 May 2014 - 10:02 AM

Hi all,

which file do I have to edit to change the look and feel of the core Content/Post Loop? Is there any template file, which I  can edit, but did not find in the filesystem? I don't want to use css, as I really have to move things (like putting the authors name below the thumb nail/featured image) . 

 

If there is already a forum topic here which I did not find, I would also be glad to read this link ;o)

 

Best,

Roman

 

 

 



#2 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 May 2014 - 04:11 AM

Hi there,

 

Unfortunately we don't advise editing of core files at all, as the changes you make will be wiped each time you update the theme. If you're looking to make changes to a core section like the post loop we then you might want to look into using WP action hooks or filters - http://docs.pageline.../advanced/hooks



#3 Roman Breuer

Roman Breuer

    Newbie

  • Members

  • 7 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 15 May 2014 - 11:26 AM

Thanks James,

I think I only need the settings from the "old" pagelines theme where you can set the position of the featured image in the post excerpts: Pagelines Menu -> Site Options -> Blog and Posts -> Feature Post Excerpt Menu 

 

Where can I find this settings in DMS2?

 

Best,

Roman



#4 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 17015 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 15 May 2014 - 12:14 PM

Hi Roman,

 

You're free to edit the core files. However, as James mentioned, it is not recommended nor something we provide support for. Therefore, I think the best course of action would be for you to create your own postloop section.



#5 Roman Breuer

Roman Breuer

    Newbie

  • Members

  • 7 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 15 May 2014 - 01:24 PM

So there is no option in DMS2 to set the featured image as is was in the "older" pageline themes?



#6 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 17015 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 16 May 2014 - 09:35 AM

You can use the Legacy options for the WP-Content/PostLoop section - https://cloudup.com/cxb5nz-BnrI

 

When you refresh, you will have the following options - https://cloudup.com/cHTSaxDQ2Zi



#7 Roman Breuer

Roman Breuer

    Newbie

  • Members

  • 7 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 16 May 2014 - 10:01 AM

Thanks, I didn't use this option because I use DMS2. I will give it a try :o)



#8 greenfly

greenfly

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 3268 posts
  • LocationManchester, England
  • Framework Version:latest
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 17 May 2014 - 01:45 AM

thank you for letting us know. :) 



#9 Roman Breuer

Roman Breuer

    Newbie

  • Members

  • 7 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 19 May 2014 - 10:45 AM

It works :) But I still do not get the point why these settings are marked as "< 1.2" and hidden behind a checkbox. I find them very useful as they open me the possibility to two nice post arrangement forms :)

 

Thanks,
Roman


Edited by Roman Breuer, 19 May 2014 - 10:45 AM.


#10 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 17015 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 20 May 2014 - 10:57 AM

As far as I am aware, in the near future the PostLoop section is going to be given a make over with some awesome new features for club only members. However, I am not certain on this, so please do not take it as gospel.


  • Roman Breuer likes this

#11 quintinm

quintinm

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 198 posts
  • Framework Version:DMS2
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 May 2014 - 11:29 AM

Thanks Danny - this has solved my issue with the blog interface.

 

I do still need to find out how to remove the meta bar under the blog post title completely if i want to.

Is this an option?

 

Thanks.



#12 GetMeWebDesign

GetMeWebDesign

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 524 posts
  • LocationSurrey, UK
  • Framework Version:developer
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 29 May 2014 - 08:29 AM

@quintinm add &nbsp to Configure Full Width Post Metabar  and Configure Clip Metabar is the easiest method.


  • seattle5021209 and suecockburn like this