• 0

Update to DMS 2 Went Very Badly

Question

Posted · Report post

Oy. I've updated from DMS 1 to 2 on three other sites before I did this one, no differently. 

 

I backed up the site with Backup Buddy, installed the Updater plugin, then updated to DMS 2. Now, it completely removed all design I've done, removed the custom CSS I had, and I have NO IDEA what to do now! I've restored the Backup Buddy database, and it did nothing.

 

HELP!  Thank you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

8 answers to this question

  • 0

Posted · Report post

First step, contact your host and see if they can restore from a backup. if you can get the site restored we can take a look at the setup of the site. 

 

Let us know how you get on,

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

Thank you, Martin - but it occurred to me - shouldn't I restore the DB with Backup Buddy then roll back DMS to v1 and see if that restores everything? If so, how do I do that? I can't just upload v1, it doesn't work.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

Update: I installed v1 and rolled back my DB via Backup Buddy, so theoretically everything should be the same... but it's still empty of my custom code and design.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

I would say get the host to roll back to a previous days version before this happened. This process will literally reinstate the site as it was on x day (the host saves your entire site at specific points, usually daily, weekly etc) rather than downgrading the product and reinstalling the db from a backup etc. If anything was lost or caused due to an error in the export/backup then rolling back will get this back.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

I agree with James 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

I've run a server rewind several times on this and it is not working - I've rolled back to three separate (and earlier) dates. It's very upsetting - I'll have to completely start the site over.

 

I'm most upset about losing my custom CSS - which I thought was being backed up with Backup Buddy. Could anyone tell me where to look in the directory to see if I can recover it in one of the backup files? Thank you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

I have no idea how backup buddy works or what its file structure is, but the custom css is stored in the database, so thats where you should be looking.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Posted · Report post

In semi-conclusion, this is an unsolved mystery - I still have no clue what happened and why the update was so catastrophic.

 

I reclaimed my custom CSS from the .sql file backup.

 

This will make me trigger shy about updating in the future, for sure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now