Photo

Child Theme for PlatformPro and updates

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 theterribletwos

theterribletwos

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 102 posts

Posted 09 November 2010 - 09:15 AM

I'm trying to figure out how to preserve changes that I made to PlatformPro Base if I update from 1.01 to 1.05. I am quite new to this and began making some changes to the Custom Code Section. I changed font size, color, etc. by using CSS code. What exactly do the updates change? I'm assuming they don't change alterations I made to the standard "settings" available under PlatformPro. For instance, if I made a change to the layout size or changed/added widgets, those changes will be preserved if they are only made in PlatformPro Base. Is that correct? I'm just trying to figure out how to properly use Platform Child and to avoid losing changes I made when updating in Platform without really knowing what I needed to change in Platform Child to preserve those changes. Does that make sense? Thanks!

#2 arpowers

arpowers

Founder

• Administrators
  • 3270 posts

Posted 09 November 2010 - 06:26 PM

Hey Graham, If you have the child theme working well, don't upgrade. It's just used to make things easier to customize...the code in it is your own website platform...

#3 theterribletwos

theterribletwos

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 102 posts

Posted 11 November 2010 - 12:25 AM

Okay, so to clarify, I've been working exclusively on PlatformPro. I have not installed PlatformPro Base. I guess, what I am concerned about is that I edited the CSS in the Custom Code section of PlatformPro. If I update the PlatformPro from 1.01 to 1.05, will those changes (changes to CSS through the Custom Code Section) be overwritten? I hope I'm making sense, I've just started tinkering with wordpress, so I could be using terminology wrong, etc.

#4 theterribletwos

theterribletwos

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 102 posts