Jump to content


Photo

How to edit slider content?

Slider text graphics

Best Answer Danny , 17 February 2014 - 11:49 AM

Hi Mike,

 

Firstly please be aware that James is going above and beyond here, as we no longer provide support for WhiteHousePro the theme has been considered a legacy theme since early 2012.

 

To preform the update, you will need to use an FTP client, then navigate to your wp-content/themes/ directory and rename the whitehousepro folder to something like:

 

old_ at the beginning.

 

Once done, go to your Wordpress Admin Dashboard > Appearance > Themes and then upload the new WhiteHousePro theme, your site should look the same but be using the latest version of WhiteHousePro.

 

However, I highly recommend you cease using WhiteHousePro and being using DMS, if  you want your site to be secure for the foreseeable future.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Flatpik

Flatpik

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • LocationOregon
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 11 February 2014 - 12:56 AM

My site is several years old and I need to revise the slider contents.   When I look at Appearance  /  Whitehouse Pro Features, I see a page of feature options (features 1 - 6 + feature boxes 1, 2, 3), but nowhere to actually edit the sliders.  The sliders are not found in Pages either.

 

Where can I edit the slider content?

 

Thanks

 

 

 

 


  • assomibatrifs likes this

#2 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 11 February 2014 - 01:43 AM

Hi there, in Whitehouse Features is an option in the Whitehouse tab below the main Whitehouse options - http://screencast.com/t/LrWqHozz


  • assomibatrifs likes this

#3 Flatpik

Flatpik

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • LocationOregon
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 11 February 2014 - 11:00 PM

 Hi James - My Whitehouse Features screen look different than your.

 

https://www.flickr.c...04/12468032434/

 

Thanks - Mike



#4 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 February 2014 - 01:33 AM

Hi Mike, what version of whitehouse are you using currently? You might need to upgrade, the last edition was 3.1.5.

 

You can download if you need to upgrade from https://github.com/p...s/WhiteHousePro using the link on the right hand side.



#5 Flatpik

Flatpik

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • LocationOregon
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 February 2014 - 07:27 PM

I'm on Wordpress 3.4.1.  Safe to update?  Do I need to backup the site?  How?

 

Whitehouse is ver 2.0.2.  Should I update Wordpress first?

 

Thanks - Mike



#6 Flatpik

Flatpik

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • LocationOregon
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 14 February 2014 - 07:36 PM

Hi James -  

 

Update questions above.

 

Thanks !

 

Mike



#7 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 15 February 2014 - 06:26 AM

Hi there, I would update the theme first, not Wordpress. Likely that Whitehouse won't work with the latest versions of Wordpress as there have been some major updates since the theme was discontinued. If you do update Wordpress and find it doesn't work you can roll back to an older version - http://codex.wordpre...dPress_Versions



#8 Flatpik

Flatpik

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • LocationOregon
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 16 February 2014 - 10:17 PM

Ok, I downloaded the Whitehouse zip file.  How to apply the update?

 

Thanks - Mike



#9 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 17124 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 17 February 2014 - 11:49 AM   Best Answer

Hi Mike,

 

Firstly please be aware that James is going above and beyond here, as we no longer provide support for WhiteHousePro the theme has been considered a legacy theme since early 2012.

 

To preform the update, you will need to use an FTP client, then navigate to your wp-content/themes/ directory and rename the whitehousepro folder to something like:

 

old_ at the beginning.

 

Once done, go to your Wordpress Admin Dashboard > Appearance > Themes and then upload the new WhiteHousePro theme, your site should look the same but be using the latest version of WhiteHousePro.

 

However, I highly recommend you cease using WhiteHousePro and being using DMS, if  you want your site to be secure for the foreseeable future.



#10 Flatpik

Flatpik

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • LocationOregon
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 17 February 2014 - 10:46 PM

I appreciate the help and have asked my web guy to handle the upgrade to DMS.

 

Mike



#11 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 18 February 2014 - 12:58 AM

You're welcome Mike, thank you for updating the thread.



#12 leosin

leosin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Locationearth
  • Framework Version:none
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 30 March 2014 - 06:25 AM

study...