Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Flipper images crop to same size


Best Answer Danny , 16 January 2014 - 12:09 PM

@Donna111 - I have no idea what that code is or where you have added it. We do not provide support for third party scripts. If you want Flipper to crop your images then use the Flipper option, you may need to use a plugin to regenerate your thumbnails.

 

If that doesn't work to your liking then you can use an application such as PhotoShop or GIMP to resize your image.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 paul_t

paul_t

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 157 posts
  • Framework Version:DMS 1.1.6
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 31 December 2013 - 02:52 PM

I had a look for info on this and seem to go around in circle with no definitive answer.

 

Is it something in Wordpress itself that has to be changed. Or a mod in DMS?

 

Bottom line - is it possible to to set the the Flipper images to crop?

 

tia



#2 jmad

jmad

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 910 posts
  • LocationCentral Florida
  • Framework Version:DMS
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 31 December 2013 - 03:19 PM

I personally find it better to bring my photos in at a size I plan to use.  Relying on the cropping of plugins and WP gets tricky.  That said, I think there is a selection for which size thumb to use and 'aspect thumb' cropped the photos I was using for a client correctly.



#3 paul_t

paul_t

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 157 posts
  • Framework Version:DMS 1.1.6
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 31 December 2013 - 04:34 PM

Totally agree on the size thing

 

re crop - I thought the same - changed the settings, but no change? Every image in the flipper ends up a different depth.



#4 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 17139 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 January 2014 - 10:56 AM

Hi,

 

Flipper by default doesn't crop your images (but can be changed), the reason for this (as far as I know) is for responsive reasons. If you set the image(s) to crop, then when you view your site on a large resolution for example, the images will remain the same size.

 

In my opinion, if you're going to be using images for your blogs featured image or anything like that, then they should always have the same dimensions. 



#5 paul_t

paul_t

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 157 posts
  • Framework Version:DMS 1.1.6
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 January 2014 - 11:39 AM

Just trying to get my head around that. ;)

 

AFAIKS - The flipper (featured) images are scaled to fit proportionally with a responsive width - independent of the size of the original

 

So if you used cropped images - you'd still get the fixed width and they'd all be the same height - BUT resolution would be dependent on the cropped size.

 

OK - if the cropped size were small - then I could see an issue with large resolution displays.

But if the crop size were a sensible size - would that not negative the problem?

 

For now - appreciate you feedback and will go with fixed dimension images.



#6 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 17139 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 January 2014 - 12:58 PM

Have you not changed the settings like I mentioned above ?

http://d.pr/i/kQzA

 

Use the Thumbnail option and the result will be this - http://d.pr/i/SWyY

The Ps4 image is huge and has been cropped.

 

Either way, I would ways recommend using the same dimensions for your featured images.



#7 paul_t

paul_t

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 157 posts
  • Framework Version:DMS 1.1.6
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 January 2014 - 01:02 PM

Yes I changed to 'aspect thumb' - but didn't see any difference.

 

Do the post 'featured images' have to be regenerated in some way?



#8 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 17139 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 January 2014 - 01:07 PM

Try the thumbnail option like I mentioned above, you may need to regenerate your thumbs, you can do this with a plugin from the Wordpress plugin repo.



#9 paul_t

paul_t

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 157 posts
  • Framework Version:DMS 1.1.6
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 02 January 2014 - 01:14 PM

Will search out the plugin - thanks for now.



#10 Donna111

Donna111

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 16 January 2014 - 03:13 AM

HI there

I have encountered the similar questions with you.I tried to crop the image using this code which i got from google:

namespace RE__Test
{
public partial class Form1 : Form
{
public Form1()
{
InitializeComponent();
}

private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
string fileName = "c:/Sample.png";

REImage reImage = REFile.OpenImageFile(fileName);

ImageProcessing.Apply
Image Crop(reImage, 80, 80, 500, 500);

REFile.SaveImageFile(reImage, "c:/reimage.png", new PNGEncoder());
}
}

But it can not work.What's wrong with my code?Is there any image tool which supports to do that directly?Thanks a lot



#11 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 17139 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 16 January 2014 - 12:09 PM   Best Answer

@Donna111 - I have no idea what that code is or where you have added it. We do not provide support for third party scripts. If you want Flipper to crop your images then use the Flipper option, you may need to use a plugin to regenerate your thumbnails.

 

If that doesn't work to your liking then you can use an application such as PhotoShop or GIMP to resize your image.



#12 Donna111

Donna111

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 17 January 2014 - 07:36 AM

Thanks for your nice answers.I'll have a try.Thanks



#13 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 17139 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 19 January 2014 - 09:50 AM

No problem.



#14 diretornak

diretornak

    Advanced Member

  • Members

  • 88 posts
  • LocationSao Paulo, Brasil
  • Framework Version:Always Latest
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 27 January 2014 - 10:49 PM

What worked for me was this:

 

.flipper-wrap .flipper-items > li img {max-height:200px;}

 

Since the responsive nature of the section takes care of the width, i just needed to set a max-height value to get em all standardized.



#15 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 28 January 2014 - 03:36 AM

Thanks for sharing your solution