Photo

Latest News Page Updates

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 nelsons

nelsons

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 24 October 2010 - 05:24 PM

Hi, Firstly I'd just like to state for the record that I am total noob with WP. I bought the pro +plus bundle last week and have set about developing our website with the platform pro theme. So far it has not been too bad, however I have an issue that I am hoping someone on here could help me with. I want the ability to be able to add news items on a regular basis and have them show up in my news page and as a summary latest news section in the sidear (both of which I have created). Can anyone tell me how I go about adding an item or post and have it automatically show up on the news page ? Many thanks Steve

#2 arpowers

arpowers

Founder

• Administrators
  • 3271 posts

Posted 24 October 2010 - 07:26 PM

Do posts in some form work for your news page? If not, have you looked around for plugins?

#3 nelsons

nelsons

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts

Posted 24 October 2010 - 08:01 PM

Hi Andrew, Maybe I am not explaining myself very well. When I log into my wp-admin and I click on post, I can create a post and have it allocated to my news & events category. The post then appears in my sidebar as latest news and it's all good. However when I click on my news and events page. Nothing is there. I am guessing this is an issue, with pages v posts.... I guess what I am asking is can i have posts automatically be sent to a page, if that makes sense. Any help would be great. Cheers S

#4 catrina

catrina

Advocate

• Members
  • 12345 posts

Posted 24 October 2010 - 08:21 PM

Do you mean that you want posts to be displayed on a page or do you want to know how the posts in the "news & events" category could be displayed on one page?

#5 nelsons

nelsons

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 40 posts