Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Improving Pagespeed: Javascript and Visible Content

Question

Posted · Report post

I'm on a quest to improve my Pagespeed score. I've recently reduced my JS files from 17 to 5 with BWP Minify, and while this has improved my score on Pingdom, my Pagespeed score remains as it has been. The prime culprits seem to be javascript above the fold and visible content not loading first in the HTML. I've searched for resources to learn how to correct these two issues, but cannot for the life of me find how to implement the methods they provide with DMS. Both issues, it seems, can be addressed through the main HTML file. Alas, I see nothing of the kind in the wordpress editor nor through ftp.

If it is at all relevant, here is my site. Hopefully someone with much more experience than myself can point me to some solution.

All the best,

Brian

7 answers to this question

Posted · Report post

Hi Brian,

I am by no means an expert when it comes to optimization, but according to Pingdom Tools, you have 166 HTTP requests, this is rather high, if you reduced that amount, I am positive your site would load faster.

As far as I can tell (again, not an expert), your main problem is Facebook scripts and something called MediaMatch, these appear to be the main culprits, along with Google Syndication.

You should also think about optimizing your images before uploading them. When I use jpegs, I use jpegMini on them, to optimize their size, you can also use a similar app for .pngs.

Also who are you hosted by ?

Posted · Report post

Danny, Thanks for your reply. Image optimization and reducing server load would no doubt help site speed. They're both on my to do list. But they're both given yellow warnings rather than red and so fall to a lower priority than javascript and visible content. I'm also looking at pingdom, which suggests I should parallelize the siteload, but that seems like a server issue rather than a theme one.