Issue with Less implementation

Question

Posted · Report post

Hi

I cannot get Less to work on my Child theme which is a version of Nick's Base theme. When I add the following Less:-

/* Colours */
@Blue: #00A8CA;
@Green: #A8D668;

.launch-col-1 {
	background: @Blue;
}
.launch-col-2 {
	background: @Green;
}

directly to DMS it works OK, but when I add it to the style.less file in the Child theme nothing happens. 

I'm new to Less, but appreciate its time saving capabilities and would like to implement ,

Your input please.

Thanks

Glennyboy

16 answers to this question

Posted · Report post

Hi Erwan

Thanks for the response.

I wasn't aware that these were hard-coded variables so taking this on-board I tried 'myBlue', 'myGreen' instead. I wasn't holding out for much as I had previously tried a basic declaration of body {display:none} and nothing happened. Unfortunately for me what the code edit did do is leave me with a blank white screen on the DMS view and no colour change on the front-end.

I should note that yes adding the original variables within DMS does override the DMS core values.

Thanks

Glennyboy

Posted · Report post

Guys just to add to the above.

I've teszted on alternate server and found that it works sporadically (DMS doesn't seem to like cache). The other server is a Wordpress MS (multi site) configuration and I think that is breaking the initiation of less. Can someone please advise how to update the Child theme so that it will work on a MS install. I'm pretty sure its something to do with refs in functions.php:-

function __construct() {

// Constants
		$this->url = sprintf('%s', PL_CHILD_URL);
		$this->dir = sprintf('/%s', PL_CHILD_DIR);

// Add a filter so we can build a few custom LESS vars
		add_filter( 'pless_vars', array(&$this,'custom_less_vars'));

$this->init();
	}

Thanks

Posted · Report post

Hi glennyboy,