Jump to content


Photo
Cool Carousel

Cool Carousel slider loading

slider Carousel

Best Answer CliffordP , 17 October 2013 - 02:25 PM

@satinfeather99 and I have been PM-ing. I provided a manual .zip of updated version because PL shop servers were not working. Everything should be working now. Visit your plugins page and the update should appear. If not, you'll need more generalized assistance not specific to my store product, for which you should contact PL support.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 RiverRat

RiverRat

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 167 posts
  • Locationseattle
  • Framework Version:newest
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 08 October 2013 - 04:34 AM

Hi, I bought the Cool Carousel slider but their does not seem to be any support contact. I need a nice slider and this one is nice but when the page loads it loads with white on the bottom of the site. You can see both slides as it is loading in a column. Does anyone know what the problem might be or what is a good slider.

 

My next website I need a full width slider like this site www.solditclosedit.com. Hoping this slider will work will work?

 

Website with slider not working properly is: http://buff.ly/GK2HAM

 



#2 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 16897 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 08 October 2013 - 08:38 AM

Hi,

 

Support for Cool Carousel is provided in our store forum where the developer will be notified.



#3 Jenny

Jenny

    Advocate

  • Unicorn Store Dev

  • 2924 posts
  • LocationWV
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 10 October 2013 - 01:57 PM

I have asked the developer to follow up on this topic.



#4 CliffordP

CliffordP

    Advocate

  • Members


  • 471 posts
  • LocationOklahoma
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 10 October 2013 - 06:03 PM

Hi @satinfeather99. I am the developer of Cool Carousel. Thanks for your purchase. All support for extensions sold in the PageLines Shop are handled via this forum.

 

What you're seeing is called FOUC (Flash of Unstyled Content). It's all over the internet.

 

In your case, specifically, your images are huge. The script is loaded, waiting for the images to finish loading.

 

From Pingdom ( http://tools.pingdom...tage.net/Jason/ ) you can see that you have 3 images over 1MB each. I'd recommend using Photoshop's save for web if you have that or something like Kraken ( https://kraken.io/web-interface ) or Smush.it ( http://www.smushit.com/ysmush.it/ ) from the original image. A 1100 wide image doesn't need to be 1.3 or 1.6 MB. They should be around 300kb - 500kb. Once you do that, your page load will be about 1/9th of what it was.

 

You can see the test for my Cool Carousel Demo page ( http://tools.pingdom...rousel-section/ ), which has 33 carousel items (large images, smaller images, video embeds, google maps, iframe, etc.)

 

As far as a full-width section, I just pushed version 1.3 update, which gives you a 2nd section that is full-width. Enjoy! (FYI, the Pingdom test above was before I added the full-width images to the demo page, which is http://www.pagelines...rousel-section/



#5 RiverRat

RiverRat

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 167 posts
  • Locationseattle
  • Framework Version:newest
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 10 October 2013 - 10:33 PM

Thank you I will try that. Why does the slider show 2 when it loads up - one slider on top of the other?



#6 RiverRat

RiverRat

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 167 posts
  • Locationseattle
  • Framework Version:newest
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 10 October 2013 - 10:35 PM

Can I fix FOUC (Flash of Unstyled Content) on the page line site as none of my other sites do that?



#7 CliffordP

CliffordP

    Advocate

  • Members


  • 471 posts
  • LocationOklahoma
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 11 October 2013 - 02:03 AM

Technically, it's not quite FOUC because it's simply that the slider loads before the images because the images take so long to load. But FOUC, by definition, means you can't really fix it.

 

http://avisualadvantage.net/Jason/ doesn't load 2 carousels, one on top of each other, as you said. Do you have a screenshot / screencast?

 

I'd also recommend getting a CDN, like MaxCDN ( http://wpmu.org/maxcdn-review-coupon/ ).



#8 RiverRat

RiverRat

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 167 posts
  • Locationseattle
  • Framework Version:newest
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 11 October 2013 - 09:05 PM

Nice and Thank you. Can I get the 1.3 update for this slider so I can make the slider full width. Are the instructions simple? My client also wants her logo and menu on top of the slider like this other website I just designed using Ink themes template http://buff.ly/1gxl8Ws

 

Is there anyway I can do that? I would like to continue to use pagelines to design my own template. Right now I am still not sure if Pagelines is best or headway better for that. But I certainly have some issues to figure out. Thanks for your help



#9 RiverRat

RiverRat

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 167 posts
  • Locationseattle
  • Framework Version:newest
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 October 2013 - 12:06 AM

Hi Do I update my plugin for this I just bought the Cool Carousel last week?

 

As far as a full-width section, I just pushed version 1.3 update, which gives you a 2nd section that is full-width. Enjoy! (FYI, the Pingdom test above was before I added the full-width images to the demo page, which is http://www.pagelines...rousel-section/



#10 RiverRat

RiverRat

    Super Member

  • Members

  • 167 posts
  • Locationseattle
  • Framework Version:newest
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 October 2013 - 12:16 AM

Also on my plugin link to go to plugin site the link goes to a page error? Can you send me the link I would use to learn about that and get the updates. thanks As I said I just bought the plugin last week so figuring it out and how to make the wide screen slider. Thanks Tour Kick



#11 Jenny

Jenny

    Advocate

  • Unicorn Store Dev

  • 2924 posts
  • LocationWV
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 17 October 2013 - 01:27 PM

I have asked Cliff to revisit this topic.



#12 CliffordP

CliffordP

    Advocate

  • Members


  • 471 posts
  • LocationOklahoma
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 17 October 2013 - 02:25 PM   Best Answer

@satinfeather99 and I have been PM-ing. I provided a manual .zip of updated version because PL shop servers were not working. Everything should be working now. Visit your plugins page and the update should appear. If not, you'll need more generalized assistance not specific to my store product, for which you should contact PL support.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Cool Carousel, slider, Carousel