Childe Theme - benefits?

Question

Posted · Report post

Hi,

This may be a stupid question for advanced users and developers, But I am a beginner so don't be mad please.

I don't really understand why it is beneficial to use a child theme and how it works.

Yes, I have read the Wordpress article. It does't get overwritten when the main theme gets updated. Ok, but

I installed and activated Nick's ( beardedavenger ) child theme. Now, to change any CSS, I have (at least) two options:

1. insert custom CSS code to the child theme's style.css. Do this by FTP, bit of a hassle compared to just

2. insert the same code to the custom code section of the DMS editor.

Why is it better to leave that space empty and put code into style.css in the child theme? Would that be overwritten when the theme updates? I don't think it would?

Also, the changes I make under the editor's global options tab, such as 'site text colors', are written into where? The child theme or the main DMS? There is nothing in the child theme's style.css, so I guess they are saved into the main theme. Will those be oberwritten when I update? I don't think they will, am I wrong?

I don't speak any LESS or PHP, is the child theme still beneficial for me?

Thank you,

Istvan

4 answers to this question

Posted · Report post

I also have questions about child themes. I'm just starting my first one today! I have installed Pagelines DMS and then installed Nick's Base Theme. I did all of the customization on the base theme, and saved it as directed in the style.css

During my experimentation, I deactivated the chile theme and activated DMS, and most of the setting carried over, so it must be saving to the parent theme.

I also noticed that there is "Publish Configuration to Child Theme" button. I tried to use it, but do not understand what it did. I still had to do additional work on the freshly created site, even after installing both DMS and child theme.