Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

HELP! I think I just deleted my site!!!

Question

Posted · Report post

I hope you can help. I am totally new to all this and have just been spending the last few days learning my way around WordPress & PlatformPro. I had installed all the demo pages and then decided to delete them all now that I was ready to start building the real site. In doing so the content area of the home page showed up a 404 error. I wasn't sure which page controlled the home page of the site and when restoring the file named "index" from the trash this didn't fix it so I had a great idea. (not) I thought I'll start again from scratch, uninstall the Platform theme and upload it again. I was working on the "Base" theme so when I went into Themes from the dashboard I deleted the main platform pro theme first. At that point everything went white. Since then I tried a whole lot of fiddling to no avail. I use a control panel for my hosting so I uninstalled and reinstalled Wordpress giving the new database a new name. But each time after I uploaded and activated the PlatformPro Theme the screen went blank (white). I should say that the standard Wordpress theme appears. Any help appreciated. eeeek! Fiona

6 answers to this question

Posted · Report post

A little confused. Let me get this straight... what did you delete? Your DB is where all your info is stored.

Posted · Report post

Hi Andrew, sorry about the rambling in the last post, I was in the WordPress Dashboard and tried to uninstall the Platform Pro theme (don't ask!). However, as I'm replying to you here I just went back into the WordPress Dashboard and I see there is an error there: Broken Themes The following themes are installed but incomplete. Themes must have a stylesheet and a template. Name Description platformpro Stylesheet is missing. Not sure how to remedy this... Fiona

Posted · Report post