Photo
- - - - -

HELP! I think I just deleted my site!!!

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 fbrophy

fbrophy

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 19 October 2010 - 09:02 PM

I hope you can help. I am totally new to all this and have just been spending the last few days learning my way around WordPress & PlatformPro. I had installed all the demo pages and then decided to delete them all now that I was ready to start building the real site. In doing so the content area of the home page showed up a 404 error. I wasn't sure which page controlled the home page of the site and when restoring the file named "index" from the trash this didn't fix it so I had a great idea. (not) I thought I'll start again from scratch, uninstall the Platform theme and upload it again. I was working on the "Base" theme so when I went into Themes from the dashboard I deleted the main platform pro theme first. At that point everything went white. Since then I tried a whole lot of fiddling to no avail. I use a control panel for my hosting so I uninstalled and reinstalled Wordpress giving the new database a new name. But each time after I uploaded and activated the PlatformPro Theme the screen went blank (white). I should say that the standard Wordpress theme appears. Any help appreciated. eeeek! Fiona

#2 arpowers

arpowers

Founder

• Administrators
  • 3252 posts

Posted 19 October 2010 - 09:17 PM

A little confused. Let me get this straight... what did you delete? Your DB is where all your info is stored.

#3 fbrophy

fbrophy

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 19 October 2010 - 09:24 PM

Hi Andrew, sorry about the rambling in the last post,

I was in the WordPress Dashboard and tried to uninstall the Platform Pro theme (don't ask!).

However, as I'm replying to you here I just went back into the WordPress Dashboard and I see there is an error there:

Broken Themes