Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Columns won't stay in put after updating the page

Question

Posted · Report post

Hi! I'm new with DMS so I hope you could help me with my problem :)

I'm trying to put one mediabox image and one textbox inside one column, and have many of these columns on top of each other (see attachment A). They are nicely set before I update the page. Then the whole set of columns on the right moves below the left column and I lose all the texts and images and width I have set (see attachment B). Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks already in advance!

-Tuomas

11 answers to this question

Posted · Report post

OK, I seem to have misunderstood what you did.

Basically Column, 2 Column and 3 Column can not be added into one another. These sections are there so that you can quickly create a 1 or 2 or 3 column layout by simply dragging that section onto your template.

If you want a two column layout, drag and drop the 2 column layout section onto your template and then start dragging and dropping the sections you want to populate those areas.

If your Columns are not in the correct position upon save you either have your columns not adding up to 12, i.e. you can't have a one column using 7 and the other column using 6, as that adds up to 13. Your columns width can be whatever you like, as long as all columns don't exceed 12.

If your columns are not exceeding 12, then you may have an issue with the HTML you're adding to your textbox or custom CSS such as a border that is pushing your column below.

If that isn't the case it may well be a plugin, therefore disable all active plugins and see if your issue is resolved.

If not, to recreate your issue, can you provide the steps you have taken to experience this issue such as:

* The widths of your columns

* What sections are you using

* What code have you used in your sections and what image(s)

Any other info you feel may assist us.

Posted · Report post

HI,