Jump to content


Photo

Long loading times webpages (7-9 sec)

loading time

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 carerix

carerix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 11 August 2013 - 10:07 AM

Our website with Pagelines theme is loading slow, like 7-9 sec, alltough there are no big images or complicated things to be loaded.

When I look at http://tools.pingdom...x.com/sunshine/ the biggest issues are:

Why are those loading times so long?

And I thought pageless would reduce loading time?

 

also the webpage keeps looking for this:

GET http://proef.carerix...-1.10.2.min.map 404 (Not Found)

in that folder I only see javascript files.
 

How can I solve this?

 

I tried W3C Total Cache, but that gave an empty page now and then, so I removed it again.

And I want to solve this structural instead of plastering.

 

 

regards, Harold Vogelaar

 
 
Website-speed-test-extended-view-11-aug-

 



#2 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 11 August 2013 - 02:03 PM

Hi,

 

It seems the speed problems start before WordPress or PageLines Framework Lite even start.  I ran the same test today and discovered it took 4.2 seconds, about 4 seconds of pure wait time for your server to load the domain name.  That's not a problem we can solve.

 

It is likely you're on a very inexpensive hosting plan with limited resources. As WP updates, and plugins aren't updated by their developers, things slow down, but more important, each requires more and more memory resources.  You really need improved hosting.   All the PL related wait times are related to the availability of memory resources.  Twitter is slowing you down because it takes time to access their feeds and deliver content. That's not a PL issue.

 

You also have a major error in that your site is also trying to load http://careix which is an incomplete URL.  That throws errors and probably slows down the compilation of LESS css.

 

My suggestion is to migrate to a better server with at least 64Mb if not 256Mb of RAM dedicated to PHP.  Also, to clean up the code to remove errors and discontinue the use of Twitter in its current form.



#3 carerix

carerix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 11 August 2013 - 08:49 PM

Thank you Rob, for your detailed answer.

 

I migrated the website to another domain (http://vogelvrij.eu/sunshine/), and I took care of the wrong link 'http://carerix'.

With the same plugins installed there was not much difference in loading times, I installed WP Super cache. Both sites load much quicker now and the still have the same loading times for both sites.

 

But the pageless file is still a problem (1.5-3.5 sec). What can I do to tackle this?

 

thanx, Harold



#4 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 17580 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 August 2013 - 08:53 AM

Hi,

The issue you have may be related to your hosting environment. I have ran a reserve IP test and found that you have over 200 other websites on the same server. Although this isn't the record for most sites hosted on one server (current record is set to 1689 websites) this is still rather a lot.

I recommend you enable PL Debug mode and provide us with your PHP info.

You can find debug mode under Site Options > Advanced, when active let us know in your reply. You can get your servers PHP info here - http://codex.wordpre...ing_Server_Info

However, I would recommend you switch your hosting plan/package or move to a host we recommend, which is FlyWheel. They're currently in beta but if you contact them and say you're a PageLines customer, they may be able to move you up the list.

http://getflywheel.com/

#5 carerix

carerix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 August 2013 - 09:28 AM

thank you Danny,

see http://proef.carerix...ine/phpinfo.php

 

I can't find the option to turn on debug mode under the Advanced tab. See my view http://proef.carerix...dvanced-tab.png and http://proef.carerix...vanced-tab2.png

So I set debug on in the config file, see here the result:

Notice: wp_enqueue_script was called incorrectly. Scripts and styles should not be registered or enqueued until the wp_enqueue_scriptsadmin_enqueue_scripts, or login_enqueue_scripts hooks. Please see Debugging in WordPress for more information. (This message was added in version 3.3.) in/var/www/vhosts/proef.carerix.com/httpdocs/sunshine/wp-includes/functions.php on line 3012
Warning: get_current_user() has been disabled for security reasons in /var/www/vhosts/proef.carerix.com/httpdocs/sunshine/wp-content/plugins/ewww-image-optimizer/ewww-image-optimizer.php on line 32
Notice: register_sidebar_widget is niet meer in gebruik sinds versie2.8! Gebruik in plaats daarvan wp_register_sidebar_widget(). in /var/www/vhosts/proef.carerix.com/httpdocs/sunshine/wp-includes/functions.php on line 2871
Notice: register_widget_control is niet meer in gebruik sinds versie2.8! Gebruik in plaats daarvan wp_register_widget_control(). in /var/www/vhosts/proef.carerix.com/httpdocs/sunshine/wp-includes/functions.php on line 2871

 

Please let me know how I can turn on PL debug mode. Or is not visible because my theme is not upgraded to the Pro version (we paid already).

 

thanx, Harold


Edited by carerix, 12 August 2013 - 09:30 AM.


#6 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 17580 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 August 2013 - 12:02 PM

I apologise I wasn't aware you were using PageLines Lite, didn't notice the forum you posted in sorry.

PL Debug mode isn't available in the Lite version unfortunately. Instead would be possible for you to provide us with your PHP server info please.

However, I think the issue is related to your hosting environment and the fact you're using shared hosting. Shared hosting isn't known for its performance, but is instead known for being a quick and cheap way to get a site online.

I would recommend either changing your hosting plan or switching host, we recommend FlyWheel, ZippyKid or WP Engine.

#7 carerix

carerix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 12 August 2013 - 01:29 PM

Sorry Danny, I already paid for the Pro version 4 weeks ago, but we were never upgraded!! please see thread http://forum.pagelin...-alltough-paid/

I sent numerous mails and forumsthreads about this, but I don't get any reaction at all? So besides missing all Pro features, now we can't get the appropriate support either, just because we are still not upgraded??

 

Further more I migrated the website to another domain (http://vogelvrij.eu/sunshine/), that is one of the best hosts around.

With the same plugins installed there was not much difference in loading times. Also with WP super cache installed the domain loading time is tiny.

So it doesn't look like it's a hosting problem, also I don't hope we need a top of the bill host (dedicated) to be able to run a pretty standard website with the Pagelines theme.

 

So the two issues left are:

  1. Our subscription, we want to be upgraded asap to the Pro version!
    Order #13469 made on July 24, 2013. Order status: completed.
    Licence Email: marketing@carerix.com
  2. The pageless file is the only file that has a long loading time. Here is our PHP info: http://proef.carerix...ine/phpinfo.php (Php 5.2)

regards, Harold



#8 Danny

Danny

    Is Awesome!

  • Moderators
  • 17580 posts
  • LocationManchester, UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 August 2013 - 10:47 AM

Hi Harold, OK, I am by no means a server expert but its looks as though this may be a server related issue. I recommend you contact your host and ask them to upgrade your PHP version as you're currently on 5.2.x, you should really be on 5.3+. Regarding your order, you have't purchased PageLines Framework Pro, but DMS Personal. You can access your DMS Personal here - http://www.pagelines.com/my-account/

#9 carerix

carerix

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 August 2013 - 10:55 AM

Aha, well we got that clear now.

In that case there is a major workflow error:

  • From within the Pagelines Admin it says 'Upgrade now' for the Pro Edition 
  • when I click on that I get redirected to this page: http://www.pagelines...g/?ref=le-admin
  • So I choose plan 'Personal' etc... and paid for the personal plan.
  • But apparently that is the wrong the wrong Pricing page?

Please let us know what we need to do to get the Pro Edition.

 

Harold



#10 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 13 August 2013 - 07:11 PM

Harold,

 

The pricing page is for DMS.  Framework Pro is no longer available for sale. You can only purchase or subscribe to DMS.  Candidly, I think DMS may be better for you.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: loading time