Photo
- - - - -

Framework to DMS

updates

Best Answer dsolano , 08 August 2013 - 01:37 PM

It worked this morning.  It allowed me to activate.  It wasn't doing it last night.  Thank you.

Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 kapow

kapow

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 August 2013 - 02:27 PM

Firstly, I am a big fan of Pagelines and I am behind you guys 100%. I am also very happy to see new and exciting products like DMS.

However, I have just recently completed a website on PL Framework, after countless hours/days/months, and finally I am happy with it. Finallly. I am not a coder. I do it as a means to a commercial end. The few skills I have, have been hard to earn. Now, it seems i have to pretty much start over. I hope you can imagine how distressing that thought is.

Please could you tell me, in plain language, what now happens with sites built with PL framework. Will they gradually just fall apart as you guys are now focused on  DMS? Am i now obliged to update/switch to DMS, and pray that my site doesnt crumble and I lose all my followers? What are my options?

• jwnichols3 likes this

#2 Rob

Rob

One Smart Egg

• Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course

Posted 08 August 2013 - 09:13 AM

Hi,

First, nothing will happen to your new Framework-based website.  You won't be able to buy new sections, plugins or child themes for it, but if you've already completed it, there should be no issues. 

You don't have to purchase DMS or convert the site. 

As for the site gradually falling apart, well, all websites do that.  Not because of PageLines, but because WordPress updates and plugin developers don't keep up-to-date.  So proper maintenance is important.  I can't guaranty that your site will remain in pristine condition forever.  But you should be good until at least WordPress 4.0 (3.6 was just released).