Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Page Option Setup goes to 404 error page on pressing "save options"


Best Answer Rob , 18 July 2013 - 09:52 AM

You go to Dashboard > Store > Sections > Your Added Sections and select the sections you're not using or likely to use, and click the Deactivate button for each you do not use.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 quinntinm

quinntinm

    Super Member

  • Members
  • 121 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 17 July 2013 - 09:30 AM

Hi.

 

I found a problem when trying to update a new site's page options section.

After putting some content into the content box area, i clicked  "save options" and it went to the 404 page and said "Nothing found for WP-admin options php.

 

This first happened a few days ago, but i thought it might be an issue that would pass but it did not.

 

Anyone know what the problem could be?

 

thanks.

 



#2 quinntinm

quinntinm

    Super Member

  • Members
  • 121 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 17 July 2013 - 12:09 PM

Quick update:

I have another site on the same server, but it does not have the same problem.

It is running a previous version of pagelines and the problem site is running 2.4.4

 

I have sent a ticket to the server guys to ask about the "Mod-security" status of the site / server and am awaiting feedback on that.

I have also disabled all the plugins, but the same thing happens.

 

In the meantime, is it possible to roll back to a prev version of pagelines?

 

Clutching at straws i know..



#3 quinntinm

quinntinm

    Super Member

  • Members
  • 121 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 17 July 2013 - 07:00 PM

Hi, any advice on whether or not i can roll back to Version: 2.3.3 in the meantime while i wait to hear from my server admins?

 

Please advise if this is an option and how to do it?

The other site that is working fine on the same server is running  verion 2.3.3 with the base theme as the current theme.

The only difference between these two sites is the pagelines framework. 2.3.3 vs 2.4.4.

 

thanks in advance.



#4 Simon_P

Simon_P

    Messer

  • Administrators



  • 8388607 posts
  • LocationDevon
  • Framework Version:2.1.1
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 17 July 2013 - 08:50 PM

There is no version to roll back to, the settings page will be exactly the same.



#5 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 5126 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 17 July 2013 - 11:36 PM

Do you have a lot of Pagelines sections activated? Try deactivating some to see if the page options then save, I found a post which says that having too many sections active can sometimes cause this.



#6 quinntinm

quinntinm

    Super Member

  • Members
  • 121 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 18 July 2013 - 06:42 AM

Morning James, thanks for the tip - i will try that.

Excuse me for being a little stupid here, but how do i deactivate them?

 

Do i remove them from the templates in the drag & drop admin section?

 

thanks.



#7 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 18 July 2013 - 09:52 AM   Best Answer

You go to Dashboard > Store > Sections > Your Added Sections and select the sections you're not using or likely to use, and click the Deactivate button for each you do not use.



#8 quinntinm

quinntinm

    Super Member

  • Members
  • 121 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 18 July 2013 - 10:09 AM

Wow, that seemed to have worked, thanks Rob for the suggestion.

 

Is this a bug or is the idea to not use a lot of sections?

 

Thank you.



#9 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 18 July 2013 - 11:20 AM

Its not a bug.

 

The number of sections your site can handle depends particularly on the resources of your server.  If your server can handle extensive simultaneous traffic and has plenty of resources, such as a dedicated server, you'll probably have no issues.  However, with a limited hosting plan, even a VPS plan (Virtual Private Server), then you may run out of resources with even moderate traffic.

 

Each section adds processes to the server load, each time someone visits the site, even if the section isn't used on the template.  As such, it causes the site to slow by a small fraction.  Add them all up and then compound it with some considerable traffic (each visitor using those resources), and you end up with problems.  Hence, removing some unused sections reduces the load.



#10 quinntinm

quinntinm

    Super Member

  • Members
  • 121 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 18 July 2013 - 11:25 AM

Thanks Rob, i was not aware of that - will definitely keep that in mind for future site dev.



#11 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 18 July 2013 - 11:30 AM

No problem.