Jump to content


Photo

Compiled CSS Prioritising Over RTL Stylesheet


Best Answer James B , 20 June 2013 - 10:35 PM

Hi Chris,

 

Honest answer is, I'm not sure. I will check with our core team and one of the moderators will report back to you as soon as we hear back.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 chrissyb

chrissyb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 20 June 2013 - 06:39 PM

Hi,

 

Hope this is not too vague...

 

Is there anyway to prioritse the RTL stylesheet? Where the compiled stylesheet has a higher line order than the RTL style sheet that style is taking priority and I'm not able to alter the styles to crate a site mirror image correctly.

 

In other words where can I find the code that generates the stylesheet declarations :-)

 

Hope that makes sense?

 

 



#2 James B

James B

    Advocate

  • Moderators
  • 4985 posts
  • LocationSurrey - UK
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 20 June 2013 - 10:35 PM   Best Answer

Hi Chris,

 

Honest answer is, I'm not sure. I will check with our core team and one of the moderators will report back to you as soon as we hear back.



#3 chrissyb

chrissyb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 21 June 2013 - 06:01 AM

Hi James,

 

Thanks that would be great - I'm assuming there must be a way to do it if that is the problem, I can't see anything else I might be doing wrong.

 

Chris



#4 Rob

Rob

    One Smart Egg

  • Members
  • 13575 posts
  • LocationEast Coast, USA
  • Framework Version:The Latest, of course
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 21 June 2013 - 12:09 PM

Chris, have you followed the docs for RTL?

 

http://support.pagel...ht-to-left-rtl/



#5 Sourena

Sourena

    Advocate

  • Members

  • 563 posts
  • LocationWilliamstown, MA
  • Framework Version:2.4.1
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 24 June 2013 - 07:05 AM

Hi Chris,

 

The RTL stylesheet is  prioritized if the language of the site is a language with RTL script. Do you use a child theme? 



#6 chrissyb

chrissyb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Country: Country Flag

Posted 24 June 2013 - 08:36 AM

Hi,

 

Thanks so much for the replies - I manged to solve the issue - if it helps I needed to add a line of PHP to the header to make it work with the WPML plugin, which I found at their site.

 
<?php if (ICL_LANGUAGE_CODE == "ar"): ?>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="<?php bloginfo('stylesheet_directory'); ?>/rtl.css" type="text/css" media="screen" />
<?php endif; ?>

Sourena - I'm using the customization plugin....

 

I'm a little confused still as to why it worked as it was including the style sheet just not giving it priority....

 

Now I'm wondering whether the RTL stylesheet should also be in the customization folder....

 

Chris